Men?s Golfer of the Week ? No. 5

Men?s Golfer of the Week ? No. 5
By Jake Knabel, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Texas Wesleyan’s Nathan Anderson has been named the NAIA National Men’s Golfer of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Anderson was selected based on his performances from April 9 – 15 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated group golfer of the week selections. The honor is the first such award for Texas Wesleyan men’s golf since it began in 2011.

Anderson’s three-under-par (67-71-69–207) performance at the Dallas Baptist Patriot Invitational on April 9 – 10 placed the junior in a three-way tie for first after three rounds. Dallas Baptist’s Brandon Johnson prevailed after three playoff holes, but Anderson’s effort paved the way for a Texas Wesleyan (269-284-282–835) team title, 13 strokes better than second-place Lubbock Christian (Texas) and 14 strokes ahead of top-ranked Oklahoma City. The tournament title was the second this season for the Rams.

The next Men’s Golfer of the Week will be announced on April 25.

Nominees: Brett Barry, Union (Tenn.); Shane Goldsmith, William Penn (Iowa); Michael Bork, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Vilhelm Bogstrand, Oklahoma Christian; James Tisdale, Bethany (Kan.); Tommy Rockis, Jamestown (N.D.); Cody Rhyne, Ottawa (Kan.); Matt Smith, Northwestern Ohio; Jesse Heinly, Concordia (Ore.); Joey Smart, Indiana East; Kyle Harman, Daemen (N.Y.); Tyler Vacek, Doane (Neb.); Jake Schertz, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Josh Gorzney, St. Francis (Ill.); Joey Duwe, Corban (Ore.); Derek McConnell, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Ryan Yocom, Indiana Tech; Dan Balgooyen, Ashford (Iowa); Clark Collier, Oklahoma City; Josh Manske, Grand View (Iowa); Drew Mathews, Southeastern (Fla.); Mitch Kimball, Aquinas (Mich.); Hikari Yamamoto, Warner (Fla.); Jonathan Kopsell, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Zac Henderson, Calumet (Ind.); Luke McClellan, South Carolina Beaufort; Austen Giesie, College of Idaho; Zach Lemons, Asbury (Ky.); Ryan Kiewiet, Northwestern (Iowa); Kyle Stanek, Northwestern (Iowa); Leon Scheepers, Lubbock Christian (Texas); Dane Jensen, Westminster (Utah); Nathan Chambers, Oklahoma Baptist; Andrew Johnson, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Kyle Harman, Daemen (N.Y.); Nick Sears, Madonna (Mich.).

2012 Composite Award Winners
Week 1: JB Eksteen, Lee (Tenn.)
Week 2: Johnny Schwaller, AIB (Iowa)
Week 3: Alasdair Dalgliesh, Oklahoma Christian
Week 4: Aaron Watkins, Cumberlands (Ky.)
Week 5: Nathan Anderson, Texas Wesleyan


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship

May 19-22, 2020
Las Sendas Golf Club
Mesa, Ariz.