2017 NAIA Men’s Golfer of the Week ? No. 5 (April 19)

2017 NAIA Men’s Golfer of the Week ? No. 5 (April 19)

By Spencer Scheve, Athletics Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Alec Dutkowski of Taylor (Ind.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Golfer of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Dutkowski was selected based on his performances from April 10 – 16 and was chosen out of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.

National Golfer of the Week
Alec Dutkowski, Taylor (Ind.)
So., Wakarusa, Ind.

• Dutkowski’s two-round score of 78-67—145 (+1) helped lead the Trojans to a first-place team finish out of 12 teams as he earned the runner-up medalist honors at the Wildcat Cup in Indianapolis, Ind., on April 10-11.
• His 67 was the lowest round of the tournament that bounced the Trojans to victory as they defeated seven ranked or "receiving votes" NAIA teams.
• Dutkowski continued his stellar performance on April 14-15 at the Earl Yestingsmeier Invitational in Muncie, Ind., as he posted a three-round score of 66-70-72—208 (-2).
• His two-under par topped the 84-golfer field as he tied for medalist honors with NCAA Division I Ball State’s Michael Van Deventer.

Nominees: Curtis Brokenbrow, Missouri Baptist; David Houlding, William Woods (Mo.); Anthony Slater, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Trevor Cronin, Columbia (Mo.); Josh Gambrell, Milligan (Tenn.); Clancy Cockerham, College of Idaho; Montana Frame, Oregon Tech; Brian Murtagh, Cardinal Stritch (Wis.); Brendon Shibley , Holy Cross (Ind.); Brian Brzycki, Purdue Northwest (Ind.); Matt Contey, Governors State (Ill.); Matt Winkelmann, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Tyler White, Saint Francis (Ind.); Jonathan Schram, Grace (Ind.); Jake Coffey, Indiana Wesleyan; Justin Kraft, Northwestern (Iowa); Asier Undabeitia, Hastings (Neb.); Zachary Chegwidden, William Penn (Iowa); Grant Seifried, Evangel (Mo.); Grant Shorty, Haskell (Kan.); Garrett Daniel, Cumberland (Tenn.); Ben Kendrick, Cumberlands (Ky.); Justin Warman, Campbellsville (Ky.); Nolan Frank, Jamestown (N.D.); Hugo Becerra, Waldorf (Iowa); Makenzie Gaskin, WVU Tech; Jacob Campbell, Indiana East; Max Kaminsky, Point Park (Pa.); Logan Medley, Midway (Ky.); Lewis Scott, Northwestern Ohio; Kurt Sprague, Davenport (Mich.); Brianna Baird, Northwestern Ohio; Jay Denman, Lourdes (Ohio)

2017 Men's Golf Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (March 22): Paxton Shuman, Coastal Georgia 
Week 2 (March 29): S.m. Lee, Dalton State (Ga.) 
Week 3 (April 05): Andre Beccera, Bellevue (Neb.) 
Week 4 (April 12): David Ravetto, Texas Wesleyan 
Week 5 (April 19): Alec Dutkowski, Taylor (Ind.)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship

May 19-22, 2020
Las Sendas Golf Club
Mesa, Ariz.