2018 NAIA Men's Golfer of the Week ? No. 5 (April 18)

2018 NAIA Men's Golfer of the Week ? No. 5 (April 18)

By Jed Flemming, Athletics Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – For the second time this season, S.M. Lee of Dalton State (Ga.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Golfer of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Lee was selected based on his performances from April 11 – April 17 and was chosen out of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.

National Golfer of the Week

S.M. Lee, Dalton State (Ga.)

So., Buford, Ga.

• Shot a three-round 208 to finish the tournament with an astonishing 8-under par.
• Lee capture first-place out of a field 64 golfers and helped lead to Dalton State to a first-place finish out of 12 teams.
• Lee earned his fourth Golfer of the Week honors in the past two seasons. No other NAIA Golfer has as many honors in that time.

For complete Player of the Week calendar, click here

Nominees: Jack Clarkson, William Woods (Mo.) ; Curtis Brokenbrow, Missouri Baptist ; Francisco Oliveira, Point (Ga.) ; Michael Padilla, Marymount California ; Devery Stewart, Corban (Ore.) ; Chris Carew, College of Idaho ; Matt Winkelmann, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) ; Joey Medora, Holy Cross (Ind.) ; Alec Dutkowski, Taylor (Ind.) ; Hunter Weitze, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) ; Colton Murphy, Rocky Mountain (Mont.) ; Russell Pick, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) ; Hamish Gorn, Missouri Valley ; Nick Waite, Oklahoma Wesleyan ; Ben Hadden, Kansas Wesleyan ; Parker Austin, Bethel (Kan.) ; Ben Kendrick, Cumberlands (Ky.) ; Rasmus Broholt Lind, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Jordan Tieman, Shawnee State (Ohio) ; Austin Mahoney, Campbellsville (Ky.) ; Zabdiel Flores, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Matthew McCurry, Asbury (Ky.) ; Sam Seagraves, IU Kokomo (Ind.) ; Tyler Pearson, Indiana East (Ind.) ; Braden Keown, WVU Tech ; Andrew Williamson, Wayland Baptist (Texas) ; David Meyers, Oklahoma City ; Noah Whittington, Mobile (Ala.) ; Walker Gordon, Martin Methodist (Tenn.) ; Cole Arseneault, Blue Mountain (Miss.) ; Cody Booska, Johnson & Wales (Fla.) ; Newport Laparojkit, USC Beaufort (S.C.) ; Jack Dyer, Keiser (Fla.) ; Lauri Hacklin, Coastal Georgia ; Reece Blair, University of Northwestern Ohio ; Vinny Zamora, Lourdes (Ohio)

2017-18 Men's Golf Composite Award Winners

Week 1 (March 21): S.m. Lee, Dalton State (Ga.)
Week 2 (March 28): David Meyers, Oklahoma City
Week 3 (April 04): Alec Dutkowski, Taylor (Ind.)
Week 4 (April 11): Rowan Lester, Texas Wesleyan
Week 5 (April 18): S.m. Lee, Dalton State (Ga.)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship

May 19-22, 2020
Las Sendas Golf Club
Mesa, Ariz.