No. 1 seed Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Takes Home Eighth National Championship Title; Defeats The Master's (Calif.) 1-0

No. 1 seed Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Takes Home Eighth National Championship Title; Defeats The Master's (Calif.) 1-0

Dec. 5, 2009


Updated Bracket | Click Here
Championship Statistical Leaders | Click Here
National Championship Information | Click Here


FRESNO, Calif.(Final Bracket) No. 1 seed Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) improves to 8-0 all-time in the Championship final and secured its eighth total hardware after defeating No. 15 seed The Master’s (Calif.), 1-0 in the 2009 NAIA Men’s Soccer National Championship final. The event was hosted by Fresno Pacific (Calif.) University and the Fresno Sports Council from Ramirez Field.


The Blue Raiders repeat as champions for the first time since 2005 and the eight total trophies is second most all-time behind Quincy’s (Ill.) 11. Now with a 40-9-4 playoff record, Lindsey wrapped up its 17th overall Championship appearance, including 16th straight. Lindsey Wilson ends its season on a 12-match winning streak and a 20-2-1 overall record.


“A great tournament and Fresno Pacific did a fantastic job hosting, we appreciate it,” said Lindsey Wilson head coach Ray Wells. “This game against The Master’s was not what I expected. I thought that it would be a game that would have been a little more possession-oriented for us. The Master’s came out and was awesome and we were lucky to get that early goal and hold on to it.”


Wells was asked about his dominant defense that held The Master’s scoreless and its 16th overall opponent without a goal in 23 matches.


“We have good balance and we can defend with numbers and our possession of the ball helps us,” said Wells. “Our defenders are organized, work hard and are good players. – that is a big part of our team and of our success. Our future looks bright for Lindsey Wilson.”


In a game played before a crowd of 385 filled mostly with The Master’s fans, Lindsey Wilson was the one that struck quickly and silenced the crowd. In the 11th minute, Luis Campo tallied his 14th goal of the year sending a low shot in the left corner. Campo’s marker was assisted by Chris Ochieng, his team-leading 10th helper of the year.


Both teams struggled to get into their offensive zone, long enough to fire off shots on goal. Lindsey Wilson had six overall shots, four on goal, while The Master’s compiled five overall and just one on mark. In the win, Callum Christie posted one save in 90 minutes of action.


Defensive Player of the Tournament, Kevin Lawson, finished with three saves for the Mustangs.


The Master’s ends its season with a 19-3-3 record, one win shy of tying a school record.



** Lindsey Wilson now has eight Championship titles (1995-96, 1998-2001, 2005, 2009) – the second most all-time of any program. Quincy, a school no longer in the membership, has 11 to its credit.


** The 40 all-time Championship wins for Lindsey Wilson is tied for second-most ever with Simon Fraser (B.C.). The total is one shy of the all-time record of 41 victories, set by Quincy.


** The Blue Raiders out-scored their opponents 49-2 during the 12-match winning streak, which included 10 shutouts.


** The Master’s had its 10-match unbeaten snapped.


** Lindsey Wilson’s Chris Ochieng tallied four assists in Championship play (in five matches) – that total was a Tournament high.


** Lindsey Wilson became just the second No. 1 seed since 2002 to win the title – No. 1 seed Azusa Pacific (Calif.) won the hardware in 2007 in Olathe, Kan. During the 2005 Championship run, Lindsey Wilson held the No. 2 seed.


** In their fourth postseason appearance, The Master’s never advanced to the Semifinal round before this year.


** The Blue Raiders have scored 78 goals (3.5 pg) while the defense held opponents to 11 goals (0.5 pg) all season.


** Since pool play was eliminated prior to 1999, Lindsey Wilson becomes the fourth No. 1 seed to play in the Championship final (Azusa Pacific in 2007, Lindsey Wilson in 2001 and Mobile (Ala.) in 1999).


** In its eight Championship final games, Lindsey Wilson has out-scored the opponent 22-5 including three shutouts.


** The Master’s, who played in its first Championship title game ever, drops to 7-2-2 record in Championship play.


2009 NAIA Men's Soccer All-Tournament Team:

Kevin Lawson, The Master’s (Calif.), Sr.

Farhad Abdulgani, Simon Fraser (B.C.), Fr.

Carnell Learmond, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Jr.

Ryan Maloney, Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Jr.

Marcelo Silva, The Master’s (Calif.), Fr.

Mat Luak, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Fr.

Lebogang Moloto, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Fr.

Colin Streckmann, Simon Fraser (B.C.), Sr.

Joel Thiessen, Rio Grande (Ohio), So.

Fabrice Gautrat, The Master’s (Calif.), So.

Andy Hegg, The Master’s (Calif.), Jr.

Phil Stansfield, Rio Grande (Ohio), Jr.

Chris Williams, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), So.

Marc Young, Rio Grande (Ohio), Sr.

Most Valuable Player of the Tournament:
Chris Williams, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), So.


Offensive Player of the Tournament:

Lebogang Moloto, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Fr.

Defensive Player of the Tournament:
Kevin Lawson, The Master’s (Calif.), Sr.


Champions of Character Brine-NAIA Scholarship Recipient:

Cody Jenison, The Master’s (Calif.), Sr.


Nels Dahlquist Memorial Team Sportsmanship Award:

The Master’s (Calif.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Soccer Championship

Nov. 22-23, 2019 Opening Round – 
Campus Sites

Dec. 2 - Dec. 7, 2019
OC Great Park Soccer Stadium, 
Irvine, Calif.