Final Players of the Week

Final Players of the Week

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Zach Taylor of Xavier (La.) has been named the NAIA Men's Tennis Player of the Week and Amanda Faber of Tabor (Kan.) has been tabbed as the Women's Tennis Player of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Taylor and Faber were selected based on their performances from April 25 - May 1 and were chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated group player of the week selections. The duo are the final selections for the 2011 season.

Taylor won 38-of-47 games in his four matches against Bethel (Tenn.) and No. 23 Martin Methodist April 29-30. The junior from Monroe, La., helped Xavier grab the Unaffiliated Group 2 Qualifying Tournament title in Chattanooga, Tenn., and earn an automatic berth to the NAIA Men's Tennis National Championship. Taylor and teammate Hasssan Abbas, who are the 15th-ranked doubles pair in the NAIA according to the Intercollegiate Tennis Association rankings, beat TranSouth Player of the Year Vinicius Santos and partner Juan Suarez, 8-0, in No. 1 doubles. In addition, his 6-1, 6-3 win over Martin Methodist's Renato Castro at No. 2 singles secured the victory for the Gold Rush.

On her way to a No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles title at the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament, Faber finished 7-0 held April 30. The junior from Hillsboro, Kan., teamed up with Amanda Gayer and grabbed an 8-6 victory over Bethel's (Kan.) duo of Malotte and Weaver, who had not lost a match all year.

Men's Nominees: Alex Schubert, Brescia (Ky.); Matias Leal-Jofre, Bethany (Kan.); Gustav Hollnagel, Morningside (Iowa); Fabricio Morales, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Guillermo Alvarez, Cumberlands (Ky.); Yvon Haessig, Union (Ky.); Nathan Woodward, Sioux Falls (S.D.); Ross Schulenberg, Doane (Neb.); Jamie Holmes, Nebraska Wesleyan; Vinicius Santos, Martin Methodist (Tenn.).

Women's Nominees: Nikki Chambers, William Jewell (Mo.); Alicia Cullen, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Laura Vergara, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Chelsea Henslee, Nebraska Wesleyan; Maria Charrys, Martin Methodist (Tenn.).

2011 Composite Award Winners (Men's; Women's):
Week 1: Jochem Hoefnagels, Azusa Pacific (Calif.); Sheryl Bon-Bakalov, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
Week 2: Peter Francis, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Kristin Strimple, Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)
Week 3: Simon Felix, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Rocío Frej Vitallé, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 4: Nathan Martinet, Fresno Pacific (Calif.); Tanya Murtagh, Campbellsville (Ky.)
Week 5: Thomas Rizk, William Carey (Miss.); Ekaterina Kamendova, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 6: Fabricio Morales, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Lyn See Choo, Brenau (Ga.)
Week 7: Vyacheslav Bukatin, McPherson (Kan.); Marie Boura, Fresno Pacific (Calif.)
Week 8: Zach Taylor, Xavier (La.); Amanda Faber, Tabor (Kan.)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Tennis Championships

May 12-16, 2020
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.