2015 NAIA Men?s Tennis Player of the Week ? No. 3 (April 8)

2015 NAIA Men?s Tennis Player of the Week ? No. 3 (April 8)

By Mike DeVader, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Denis Porcic of Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Tennis Player of the Week, the National office announced Wednesday. He was selected based on his performances from March 30 – April 5 and was chosen out of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.

National Tennis Player of the Week
Denis Porcic, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Fr., Tuzla, Bosnia & Herzegovina

• Porcic won all eight of his matches during the week, helping Lindsey Wilson to a 4-0 record.
• Claimed all four of his doubles matches with partner Raul Mendez playing at the No. 2 doubles position, and he also netted a perfect 4-0 record in No. 2 singles.
• In their match against Asbury (Ky.) on April 5, Porcic and Mendez came from 5-2 down in doubles play to win six-straight points and capture the contest, 8-5.
• The freshman from Tuzla, Bosnia & Herzegovina, has now won nine-straight singles matches and 12-consecutive doubles matches on the year.

For the complete 2015 Tennis Player of the Week schedule, click here.

Nominees: Yann Herve, Missouri Baptist; Matt Porter, Reinhardt (Ga.); Fernando Gonzalez, Milligan (Tenn.); Juan Felipe Salgado, Montreat (N.C.); Oscar Mancineiras-Cornella, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Lucas Navarro, St. Francis (Ill.); Alberto Monaco, Purdue Calumet (Ind.); Andrew Herlein, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Joel Montgomery, Indiana Wesleyan; McKay Inman, Hastings (Neb.); Kris Kiland, Doane (Neb.) ; Jordan Betts, Morningside (Iowa); Manav Chakma, Xavier (La.); Jordan Cox, Georgia Gwinnett; Jesse Voth- Gaeddert, Bethel (Kan.); Hector Carrillo Perales, McPherson (Kan.); Ferdinand Ostrowicki, Friends (Kan.); Michiel Van Den Bogaert, Bethany (Kan.); Hector Carrillo Perales, McPherson (Kan.); Scott Layton, Asbury (Ky.); Jonathan James, Indiana Southeast; Colton Shipley, Indiana East; Sebastian Marot, Campbellsville (Ky.); Pawel Tarasewicz, Pikeville (Ky.); Miguel Grifol, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); Deni Zmak, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Jordan Harris, Southeastern (Fla.); Joaquin Ferrando, Indiana Tech; Rik Van Gerwin, Northwestern Ohio.

2014-15 Men's Tennis Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (March 25): Carlos Becke, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 2 (April 1): Brendan Aguilar, San Diego Christian (Calif.)
Week 3 (April 8): Denis Porcic, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Tennis Championships

May 12-16, 2020
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.