2018 NAIA Men's Tennis All-America Teams Announced

2018 NAIA Men's Tennis All-America Teams Announced

By Jed Flemming, Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2018 NAIA Men's Tennis All-America teams Tuesday. Honorees were selected by the NAIA All-America committee, with 16 student-athletes being named to both the first and second teams, while 18 individuals earned honorable mentions status.

Georgia Gwinnett, Keiser (Fla.), and Xavier (La.) are all tied with the most All-Americans honorees with three. All three schools have two first team winners and one second team winner.

Six first-team All-Americans from 2017 return to first team status this year. Kevin Konfederak highlights the returners, as he earns his fourth-straight first team honors. Denis Porcic of Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) and Gilad Berman of Georgia Gwinnett both capture their third-consecutive award. Antoine Richard and Catalin Fifea of Xavier and Vladyslav Ladygin of William Carey (Miss.) round out the returning first team All-Americans as they each win their second-straight accolade.

Twenty-one student athletes return as All-Americans from 2017.

Chase Hodges of Georgia Gwinnett was named the 2018 NAIA Men's Tennis National Coach of the Year after leading his team to their fifth-consecutive national championship.

2018 NAIA Men's Tennis All-American Teams

1st Team School
Chrys Castro Campbellsville (Ky.)
Alejandro Reyes Campbellsville (Ky.)
Agustine Gascia Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Matt Hulme Coastal Georgia
Martin Barbier Cumberlands (Ky.)
Kevin Konfederak Georgia Gwinnett
Gilad Berman Georgia Gwinnett
Vicente Lagos Keiser (Fla.)
Nicolas Guerschanik Keiser (Fla.)
Denis Porcic Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Nishanth Rebello Middle Georgia State
Cole Guy Texas A&M-Texarkana
Vladyslav Ladygin William Carey (Miss.)
Javier Callejo William Woods (Mo.)
Antoine Richard Xavier (La.)
Catalin Fifea

Xavier (La.)

2nd Team School
Alberto Lapiedra Arizona Christian
Enzo Douillac Arizona Christian
Joshua Turnquest Asbury (Ky.)
Ramon Puertolas Cumberland (Tenn.)
Ayed Zatar Georgia Gwinnett
Christopher Veltkamp Judson (Ill.)
Adrian Frutos Keiser (Fla.)
Camilo Erazo Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Ahmed Lahlou McPherson (Kan.)
Mark Simons Mobile (Ala.)
Alonso Tellez San Diego Christian (Calif.)
Federico Staksrud Tennessee Wesleyan
Lois Castellon Union (Ky.)
Radu Popa University of Northwestern Ohio
Hugo Hasegawa Webber International (Fla.)
Samir Chikhaoui Xavier (La.)
Honorable Mention School
Daniel Superlano Arizona Christian
Fabio Perasso Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Pau Grabuleda Cruañas Cumberland (Tenn.)
Aatu Merenheimo Cumberlands (Ky.)
Valentino Caratini Georgia Gwinnett
Federico Herrera Duran Georgia Gwinnett
Rafael Coutinho Georgia Gwinnett
Kyle Rae Hope International (Calif.)
Eli Steiner Indiana Wesleyan
Arthur Bonnaud Keiser (Fla.)
Ivan Solans Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Tim Buhler Mobile (Ala.)
Fabio Pereira Reinhardt (Ga.)
Christian Mathis Westmont (Calif.)
Leon Hoppstaedter William Carey (Miss.)
Christopher Vleeming William Woods (Mo.)
Christian Barbieri William Woods (Mo.)
Shaikh Abdullah Xavier (La.)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Tennis Championships

May 12-16, 2020
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.