NAIA Men's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 3

NAIA Men's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 3
By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Clay Shepperson of Oklahoma Baptist has been named the NAIA National Men's Indoor Track Athlete of the Week and Austin Basterrechea of College of Idaho has been selected as the NAIA National Men's Indoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Shepperson and Basterrechea were selected based on their performances from Jan. 27 – Feb. 2.

Shepperson, a sophomore from Elgin, Okla., posted two NAIA-best times at the University of Washington Invitational in Seattle, Wash., on Feb. 1. He ran a 1:50.90 in the 800 meters, finishing second to Ryan Waite of NCAA Division I BYU (Utah). Shepperson was also part of the Bison’s 4x400 relay, which bested a 10-team field that included multiple NCAA Division I opponents by over four seconds with a time of 3:12.32.

Basterrechea, a native of Gooding, Idaho, recorded the No. 1 NAIA mark in the heptathlon, setting a College of Idaho school record in the process. As part of the event, the senior broke the Coyote program records in the indoor high-jump (6-7 ½) and pole vault (4 ¼ meters). Basterrechea also won the 1,000 meters and set a new personal record in the shot put (40-9 ½) in routing the heptathlon field with a 5,231 mark at the Ed Jacoby Invite in Nampa, Idaho, on Jan. 31.    

The next Men's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week will be announced on Feb. 12. For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Teddy McCord, Park (Mo.); Damion Flores, Eastern Oregon; Nick Hampton, College of Idaho; Wes Jones, Evergreen (Wash.); Mike Blaszczyk, St. Francis (Ill.); Ron Milbocker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Jared Reed, Taylor (Ind.); Pauric McLaughlin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Logan Harwood, Great Falls (Mont.); Shawn Peden, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Ben Cutler, Carroll (Mont.); Garrett Teal, Nebraska Wesleyan; Hayden Hohnholt, Concordia (Neb.); Sam Housh, Doane (Neb.); Robert IronShell, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Garret Ehlers, Morningside (Iowa); Spencer Head, Missouri Valley; Nickola Shingles, Central Methodist (Mo.); Vincent Tadokoro, Baker (Kan.); Josh Whittaker, Saint Mary (Kan.); Colton McNinch, Southwestern (Kan.); Antonio Bray, Sterling (Kan.); Max Burley, Friends (Kan.); Sam Meredith, Cumberlands (Ky.); Herbert Beyale, III, Haskell (Kan.); Tj Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Keonte White, Grand View (Iowa); Sam Taylor, William Penn (Iowa); Taylor Shively, Clarke (Iowa); Kaleb Garcia, Jamestown (N.D.); Zach Ely, Dakota State (S.D.); Antony Kimaiyo, Texas Wesleyan; Durawn Howard, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Hosea Maritim, St. Gregory's (Okla.); Chris Lowery, Oklahoma City; Jhante McMillan, Southern Wesleyan (S.C.); Zachary Kraus, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Matthew Smith, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Chris Rolle, Siena Heights (Mich.); Aaron Belcher, Indiana Tech; Louis Falland, Cornerstone (Mich.); Dustin Brummel, Davenport (Mich.).

Field Nominees: Anthony Stockton, William Woods (Mo.); Anthony Johnson, Evergreen (Wash.); Darien Moore, Concordia (Ore.); Ryan Rosenau, Eastern Oregon; Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.); Elisha DeRamus, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Jake Nash, Huntington (Ind.); Nathan Brown, Grace (Ind.); Kale Schmidt, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Beaugh Meyer, Carroll (Mont.); Tommie Bardsley, Nebraska Wesleyan; Justin Roberts, Hastings (Neb.); Jordan Strofaci, Northwestern (Iowa); Jeff Crouch, Missouri Valley; Jesse Austin, Baker (Kan.); Chris Paddock, Southwestern (Kan.); Zack Griffiths, Friends (Kan.); Hunter Hope, Sterling (Kan.); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Lance Maxwell, Grand View (Iowa); Nathan Stern, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Jonathan Shepherd, Clarke (Iowa); Keith Rogers, Jamestown (N.D.); Caleb Neal, Oklahoma Baptist; Michael Campobasso, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Elroy Daffin, Siena Heights (Mich.); Carrington Robinson, Indiana Tech; Gabe Turner, Cornerstone (Mich.); Tori Brooks, Davenport (Mich.).

2014 Men's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field; Track)
Week 1 (Jan. 22): Raheem Cowan, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 2 (Jan. 29): Anthony Stockton, William Woods (Mo.); Damian Flores, Eastern Oregon
Week 3 (Feb. 5): Austin Basterrechea, College of Idaho; Clay Shepperson, Oklahoma Baptist


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship

March 5 - 7, 2020
Brookings, S.D.