2017 Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 2 (Jan. 25)

2017 Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 2 (Jan. 25)

By Spencer Scheve, Athletics Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kejavon Moore of Indiana Tech has been named the NAIA National Men's Indoor Track Athlete of The Week and Cody Boellstorff of Concordia (Neb.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Indoor Field Athlete of The Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Moore and Boellstorff were selected based on their performances from Jan. 16 – 22. The second Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week will be announced on Feb. 1. 

Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week: 
Kejavon Moore, Indiana Tech
Jr., Phoenix, Ariz. 

• Finished first out of seven athletes in the 60m and the 200m at the IWU Wildcat Invite on Jan. 21.
• Ran an “A” standard in both races with a 6.71 in the 60 m and a 22.12. 
• Broke the Indiana Tech school record in the 60m dash in the prelims by running a 6.70.
• Moore out-ran the field by 16-tenths of a second (60m) and 14-tenths of a second (200m). 

Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week: 
Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.)
Sr., Waverly, Neb. 

• Placed first out of 32 athletes in the weight throw and eighth out of 35 athletes in the shot put at the Prairie Wolf Invitational on Jan. 20. 
• The defending national champion, won the weight throw competition for his second-straight meet of the season.  His mark of 65’5” tops all the NAIA throwers.
• Boellstorff finished eighth in the shot put with a toss of 14.93m.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here

Track Nominees: Tyler Lawson, Columbia (Mo.); Christian Herring, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Jacob Pinkley, Missouri Baptist; Henrique Tsugiyama, William Woods (Mo.); Brien Lancaster, Montreat (N.C.); Jebarri Cumerbatch, Eastern Oregon; Alejandro Garcia, Robert Morris (Ill.); Michael Ohioze, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Mike Giovannelli, St. Francis (Ill.); Moussa Conde, Marian (Ind.); Brennan Crawford, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Aj Gruttadauro, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Lindon McDonald, Goshen (Ind.); Noah Stratton, Indiana Wesleyan; Benson Koech, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Nehemiah Barrett, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Jacob Green, Morningside (Iowa); Lucas Wiechman, Concordia (Neb.); Jahnoy Thompson, Southern-New Orleans (La.); Devan Sawyerr, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Jamal Boma, William Penn (Iowa); Doug Hutcherson, Central Methodist (Mo.); Clay Cory , Grand View (Iowa); Demetrius Heath, Bethel (Kan.); Mason Held, York (Neb.); Ricky Alexander, Bethany (Kan.); Brayden Russell, Campbellsville (Ky.); Edwin Ford, Campbellsville (Ky.); Adrian Ross, Shawnee State (Ohio); Matthew Young, Jamestown (N.D.); Jose Chorro, Dickinson State (N.D.); Justin Jacobi, Waldorf (Iowa); Mark Moeller, Dakota State (S.D.); Dennis Gonzalez, Valley City State (N.D.); Kameron Carpenter, Rio Grande (Ohio); Sean Hilverding, Point Park (Pa.); Tre Hinds, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Kyle Pleban, Keiser (Fla.); Colin DeYoung, Cornerstone (Mich.); Matt Jutte, Lourdes (Ohio); Anthony Vermilye, Siena Heights (Mich.); Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)

Field Nominees: Austin Blakeslee, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Josh Brooks, Columbia (Mo.); Brandon Evans, William Woods (Mo.); Kyle Mitchell, St. Francis (Ill.); Erik Escobedo, Bethel (Ind.); Isaac Stuckey, Grace (Ind.); Michael Moffitt, Indiana Wesleyan; Kevin Smith, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Harry Dantona, Taylor (Ind.); Kurtis Bonner, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Cory Peoples, Baker (Kan.); Justin Halter, Central Methodist (Mo.); Daniel Hadley, Grand View (Iowa); Jeremi Barnes, Avila (Mo.); Marlon Clayton, McPherson (Kan.); Kris Quidachay, Bethany (Kan.); Ty Stanton, Dickinson State (N.D.); Cameron Newsome, Waldorf (Iowa); Tyrone Robinson, Point Park (Pa.); Leon Boyd, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Thobias Nilsson Montler, Keiser (Fla.); Malik Stuart, Indiana Tech; Jacob Compagner, Siena Heights (Mich.); Demetri Carbonell, Lourdes (Ohio); Seth Globke, Madonna (Mich.)

2016-17 Men's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)
Week 1 (January 18): Seth Sabata, Midland (Neb.) , Colin De Young, Cornerstone (Mich.) 
Week 2 (January 25): Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.) , Kejavon Moore, Indiana Tech


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship

March 5 - 7, 2020
Brookings, S.D.