2018 NAIA Men's Track and Field Athlete of the Week

2018 NAIA Men's Track and Field Athlete of the Week

By Jed Flemming, Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo.- Zach Brittain of Doane (Neb.) has been named the NAIA Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week and Kejavon Moore of Indiana Tech has been named the NAIA Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Brittain and Moore were selected for their performances during the week of January 10-16, and were selected out of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.

NAIA Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week

Zach Brittain, Doane (Neb.)
Sr., Grand Island, Neb.

• Posted the top mark in the NAIA for shot put with a throw of 59-06.75
     o Best mark in NAIA since 2013-2014 season
• Broke the school record for shot put
• Achieved an “A” mark for weight throw while finishing 3rd overall

NAIA Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week

Kejavon Moore, Indiana Tech
Jr., Phoeniz, Ariz.

• Placed 1st in the 60m with a time of 6.69 seconds
• Broke his own school record for the 60m
• Placed 2nd in the 200 m with a time of 21.93

For the full player of the week calendar, click here

Track Nominees: Josh Parson, Tennessee Wesleyan ; Ronan Philippot, Milligan (Tenn.) ; Ahmad Perryman, Montreat (N.C.) ; Tj Randle, Northwest (Wash.) ; Matthew Kirkendall, Eastern Oregon ; Anthony Peters, St. Ambrose (Iowa) ; Jordan Duncan, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Gabriel Esparza, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Bryce Green, Carroll (Mont.) ; Brenden Leaming, Rocky Mountain (Mont.) ; Nolan Ryan, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) ; Tim Rose, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Jon Flight, Hastings (Neb.) ; Jason Kenny, Morningside (Iowa) ; Josiah Oyebefun, Doane (Neb.) ; Jorden Nathan, Grand View (Iowa) ; Julio Martinez, Bethel (Kan.) ; Isaac Clark, Friends (Kan.) ; Demarius Smith, Cumberlands (Ky.) ; Christian Davis, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Owen Reeher, Shawnee State (Ohio) ; Braden Curnow, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Damion Scandrick II, Valley City State (N.D.) ; Justin Jacobi, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.)

Field Nominees: Mark Stair, Milligan (Tenn.) ; Kristopher Kostelecky, College of Idaho ; Joseph Dotson, Southern Oregon ; Brandon Ruffin, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Josh Wallick, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Chris Emter, Carroll (Mont.) ; Owen Lanning, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) ; Alex Wellington, Hastings (Neb.) ; Calvin Korver, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Reece Jackson, Morningside (Iowa) ; Tristen Elmore, William Penn (Iowa) ; Cory Peoples, Baker (Kan.) ; Austin Hill, Grand View (Iowa) ; Cadin Gustafson, Friends (Kan.) ; Goabaone Mosheleketi, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Hunter Ashton, Shawnee State (Ohio) ; Austin Snyder, Cumberlands (Ky.) ; Tyler Lems, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Cameron Newsome, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Jryi Davis, Point Park (Pa.) ; Curtis Bell, Aquinas (Mich.) ; Alfredo Smith, Indiana Tech

2017-18 Men's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)

Week 1 (January 17): Zach Brittain, Doane (Neb.); Kejavon Moore, Indiana Tech


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship

March 5 - 7, 2020
Brookings, S.D.