2019 NAIA Men's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 2 (Jan. 23)

2019 NAIA Men's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 2 (Jan. 23)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Grant Wickham of Hastings (Neb.) was named the NAIA indoor field athlete of the week and Cole Olsen of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) was named the NAIA indoor track athlete of the week. The duo was chosen out of a pool of conference group winners.

Field Athlete of the Week
Grant Wickham, Hastings
SR, Phillipsburg, Kan.     

  • Wickham currently leads the Great Plains Athletic Conference in both the shot put and weight throw after last week.
  • Weekly Stats
    • Finished first of 12 with a mark of 19.66m in the shot put
    • Finished first of 15 with a mark of 16.32m in the weight throw
    • Both throws were “A” standards that automatically qualify him for the national tournament.

Track Athlete of the Week
Cole Olsen, Lewis-Clark State
SO, Clearwater, Idaho   

  • Moore competed at the Sean Brady and Keith Turner Alumni meet last week.
  • Weekly Stats
    • Finished first of 18 in the 3,000m with a time of 8:31.30
    • Olsen set a new personal and meet record in the second 3,000m race that he has won.


For more information on NAIA Men’s Indoor Track & Field, CLICK HERE

Make sure to download the Experience NAIA Championship App for updated news and information for the 2019 NAIA Division I and II Basketball Championships! Download the app HERE!


Track Nominees: Santerrius Barlow, Union (Ky.); Devonte Flecther, Tennessee Wesleyan; Ahmad Perryman, Montreat (N.C.); Jackson Helfrich, Reinhardt (Ga.); Alex Navarro, Eastern Oregon; Rhett Gonzalez, Southern Oregon ; Elihu Young, St. Francis (Ill.); Caleb DeWeerd, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Jordan Downs, Bethel (Ind.); Austin Hickerson, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Derek Parker, Indiana Wesleyan; Nathan Matters, Concordia (Neb.); Dom Flemester, Morningside (Iowa); Eric Steiger, Dordt (Iowa); Josh Van Dusseldorp, Northwestern (Iowa); Deterio Newman, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Joel Brown, William Penn (Iowa); Moses Watson, Baker (Kan.); Alonzo Rodriguez-Spencer, Grand View (Iowa); Mason Held, York (Neb.); Pierce Wolters, Sterling (Kan.); Anterreon McClain, Saint Mary (Kan.); Avery Stuever, Friends (Kan.); Braylen Brewer, Bethel (Kan.); Charles Shimukowa, Cumberland (Tenn.); Kevin Hallmon, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Austin Hamlett, Georgetown (Ky.); Dylan Olson, Valley City State (N.D.)  Walker Olivier, Dakota State (S.D.); Jaden Dawson, Waldorf (Iowa); Steven Smith, WVU Tech; Will Mundy, Indiana East (Ind.); Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.); Justin Molitoris, Carlow (Pa.); Tre Hinds, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Brandon Schultz, Brewton-Parker (Ga.); Davonte Vanterpool, Southeastern (Fla.); Christopher Grinley, Keiser (Fla.); Wilhemson Jean-Pierre, Webber International (Fla.); Kejavon Moore, Indiana Tech; Steven Anderson, Madonna (Mich.); Joey DeBoer, Cornerstone (Mich.); Matt MacGregor, Aquinas (Mich.) 

Field Nominees: 
Micah Matheson, Montreat (N.C.); Neville Smith, Tennessee Wesleyan; Sam Davis, Reinhardt (Ga.); Kristopher Kostelecky, College of Idaho; Zach Beltz, Southern Oregon; Sam Roddewig, Eastern Oregon; Brandon Ruffin, St. Francis (Ill.); Bryce Vollrath, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Isaac Brown, Grace (Ind.); Jonah Lester, Bethel (Ind.) ; Moussa Conde, Marian (Ind.) ; Brennan Coil, Indiana Wesleyan ; Bridger Kimber, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Dom Flemester, Morningside (Iowa); Levi Sudbeck, Doane (Neb.); James Plummer, Grand View (Iowa); Mofiyinfoluwa Alade, William Penn (Iowa); Isaac Zitterkopf, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Nick Peterson, Clarke (Iowa); Kyle Wilson, Bethel (Kan.); David Loucks, Friends (Kan.); Bryce Carmack, Bethany (Kan.); Garland Webb, Campbellsville (Ky.); Ben Jackson, Georgetown (Ky.); Bumnene Ndebele, Cumberland (Tenn.); Justin Moore, Viterbo (Wis.); Isaiah Craig, Waldorf (Iowa); Zachary Co, Valley City State (N.D.); Tyler Moulton, Dakota State (S.D.); Chance Callahan, Point Park (Pa.); Javonddi Meyers, Carlow (Pa.); Nathaniel Shields, Brewton-Parker (Ga.); Rodney Powell, Keiser (Fla.); Kyle Manuel, Southeastern (Fla.); Dakari HIll, Webber International (Fla.); Gevon Foreman, Madonna (Mich.); John Piatek, Aquinas (Mich.)


2018-19 Men's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)
Week 1 (January 16): Kyle Wilson, Bethel (Kan.), Kejaon Moore, Indiana Tech

Week 2 (January 23): Grant Wickham, Hastings (Neb.), Cole Olsen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)


Source: National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship

March 5 - 7, 2020
Brookings, S.D.