2018-19 NAIA Men's Volleyball Players of the Week ? No. 2 (Jan. 29)

2018-19 NAIA Men's Volleyball Players of the Week ? No. 2 (Jan. 29)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Simon Joly of Missouri Valley was named as the NAIA men’s volleyball attacker of the week, Felipe Guirau of Park (Mo.) was named as the NAIA men’s volleyball defender of the week and Henrique Gehrke or Lourdes (Ohio) was named as the NAIA men’s volleyball setter of the week announced the national office on Tuesday. The trio was chosen out of a pool of conference and group winners.

Attacker of the Week
Simon Joly, Missouri Valley
6-2, FR, OH, Montpellier, France      

  • Joly led his team to a 4-1 week with the team’s only loss being to No. 5 Park (Mo.).
  • Weekly Stats
    • Totaled 73 kills
    • Averaged 3.65 kills per set
    • Attack percentage of 0.344
    • Added 58 digs, nine assists, four service aces and 12 blocks (seven assisted).

Defender of the Week
Felipe Guirau, Park
6-5, SO, OH, Maua, Brazil     

  • Guirau led his team to a 4-0 week including an upset over No. 2 Benedictine Mesa (Ariz.).
  • Weekly Stats
    • Totaled 19 blocks (18 assisted)
    • Posted 20 digs
    • Recorded a reception percentage of 0.932 with only four errors in four matches
    • Added 42 kills and three assists to his stat line


Setter of the Week
Henrique Gehrke, Lourdes
6-3, JR, S, Blumenau, Brazil     

  • Gehrke notched a career-high 52 assists against Webber International (Fla.).
  • Weekly Stats
    • Totaled 159 assists
    • Averaged 12.23 assists per set
    • Added two kills, 22 digs, two service aces and eight assisted blocks to his stat line.


For more information on NAIA men’s volleyball, CLICK HERE

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, CLICK HERE

Make sure to download the Experience NAIA Championship App for updated news and information for the 2019 NAIA Division I and II Basketball Championships! Download the app HERE!


Attacker of the Week Nominees: Andrea Maggio, Park (Mo.); Luka Cajic, Missouri Baptist; Logan Adcock, Benedictine Mesa (Ariz.); Joseph Webb, UC Merced; Zach Schmidt, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Kyle Springer, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Alexander Rabadzhiev, Goshen (Ind.); Edin Ibrahimovic, Menlo (Calif.); Nicolas Bilinski, Hope International (Calif.); Daniel Borsi, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Nikola Stoimenov, Mount Mercy (Iowa); John Chamone, Grand View (Iowa); Joseph Mafi, Clarke (Iowa); Jason Camacho, Campbellsville (Ky.); Arthur Amorim, Cumberland (Tenn.); Liam Gilchrist, Webber International (Fla.); Ricardo Gehrke, Lourdes (Ohio); Ruben Lopez, Aquinas (Mich.) 

Defender of the Week Nominees: Skyler Capllonch, Missouri Baptist; Jesus Izaguirre, Benedictine Mesa (Ariz.); Zach Brill, UC Merced; Aaron Kummer, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Robby Hoffman, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Christian Rodriguez, Goshen (Ind.); To'o To'o, Hope International (Calif.); Noah Marasco-Ayau, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Evan Gaskill, Mount Mercy (Iowa); James Trowbridge, Clarke (Iowa); Joseph Hallowell, Grand View (Iowa); Pedro Lepever, Webber International (Fla.); Zane Moothart, Aquinas (Mich.); Brendan Brown, Lourdes (Ohio) 

Setter of the Week Nominees: 
Luciano Bucci, Park (Mo.); Jason Harman, Missouri Baptist; Jaron Jones, Benedictine Mesa (Ariz.); Ryan Steele, UC Merced; Jake Snyder, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Aaron Kummer, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Michael Wahl, Goshen (Ind.); Trey Lake, Menlo (Calif.); Enrique Barajas, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Tsvetan Todorov, Missouri Valley; Andrew Colantone, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Dj McInerny, Grand View (Iowa); Jake Lauger, Clarke (Iowa); Jordan Pierce, Cumberland (Tenn.); Kyle Robertson, Webber International (Fla.); Colby Elder, Aquinas (Mich.)


2018-19 Men's Volleyball Composite Award Winners (Attacker, Defender, Setter)
Week 1 (January 23): Joshua Boothroyd, Aquinas (Mich.), Daniel Littleton, Aquinas (Mich.), Colby Elder, Aquinas (Mich.) 
Week 2 (January 30): Simon Joly, Missouri Valley, Felipe Guirau, Park (Mo.), Henrique Gehrke, Lourdes (Ohio)


Source: National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Volleyball Championship

April 14-18, 2020
Charles S. Johnson Wellness Center
Des Moines, Iowa