2011 NAIA Wrestling All-Americans Announced

2011 NAIA Wrestling All-Americans Announced

March 7, 2011

Contact: Amanda Dahl, NAIA Manager of Sports Information & Media Services, adahl@naia.org

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2011 Wrestling All-Americans. Honors were bestowed to the top-eight finishers of each weight class at the 54th Annual NAIA Wrestling National Championships that were held March 3 - 5 at the U.S. Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Andrew Sanchez of McKendree (Ill.) was the only wrestler to earn his fourth honor among the 80 that earned All-America accolades. Eight grapplers tallied their third All-America finish, four of which did so in their final season. Four others have placed among the top-eight in each of their trips to the NAIA Wrestling National Championships. Eighteen wrestlers became two-time honorees and 53 registered their first All-America finish.

Sanchez capped off his career by winning his second 197-pound national title, edging defending national champ Derek Foore of Notre Dame (Ohio) with a 2-1 decision. After a scoreless first period, Sanchez got on the board in with an escape in the second for a 1-0 lead. He was able to maintain control of Foore throughout the third period to accumulate 1:26 worth of riding time, which proved to be the deciding factor. The senior closed out his stellar Bearcat career with a 144-23 record, including a 38-1 mark in his final season. For his performance on the mat during his senior campaign, Sanchez was named NWCA/NAIA National Wrestler of the Year.

McKendree head coach James Kisgen was named NAIA National Coach of the Year. He guided the Bearcats to a third-place finish with 138.5 points, crowned two national champions in Sanchez and 133-pounder Wade Lowe, and had three other individuals take home All-America honors. Kisgen has coached Lowe and junior 141-pounder Kyle Williams to three All-America finishes. It is the second time Kisgen has been tabbed with the honor, with the first coming in 2008.

125 pounds
Dante RiniNotre Dame (Ohio)Sr.
Johnny PapeshCampbellsville (Ky.)Jr.
Justin ForrestLindenwood (Mo.)So.
Brandon BenvenutiLindenwood (Mo.)Jr.
Sean BlumhardtJamestown (N.D.)Jr.
Larone MadisonCumberlands (Ky.)Jr.
Akmal AdilovGreat Falls (Mont.)Sr.
Paulie HansenMissouri ValleyJr.
133 pounds
Wade LoweMcKendree (Ill.)Sr.
Matt KatusinMidland (Neb.)Fr.
Tim ThurstonCampbellsville (Ky.)Jr.
Rashad RileyMcKendree (Ill.)Sr.
Alfonso VallesEmbry-Riddle (Ariz.)Fr.
Travis EvansGrand View (Iowa)Jr.
Cameron NeissMontana State-NorthernFr.
Anton PraterMissouri BaptistSr.
141 pounds
Anthony VarnellGreat Falls (Mont.)Jr.
Eddie McCrayMidland (Neb.)Sr.
Tommy PrettyCampbellsville (Ky.)Jr.
Kyle WirkutySouthern OregonJr.
Myles MazurkiewiczGreat Falls (Mont.)So.
Drew SmithMorningside (Iowa)Sr.
Brett FreemanNotre Dame (Ohio)Sr.
Kyle WilliamsMcKendree (Ill.)Jr.
149 pounds
Matt BurnsGrand View (Iowa)Sr.
Ashtin PrimusNotre Dame (Ohio)Jr.
Jeffrey PeltonNotre Dame (Ohio)Jr.
Ryan JahnMcKendree (Ill.)Sr.
Eric BurgeyWilliam Penn (Iowa)Fr.
Shay ShiveMissouri ValleyJr.
Jarell PriceBaker (Kan.)Jr.
Adam KurimskiGrand View (Iowa)Jr.
157 pounds
Corey BleakenCumberland (Tenn.)Sr.
Thomas StraughnNotre Dame (Ohio)Sr.
Tyler ChangEmbry-Riddle (Ariz.)Sr.
Vince HannonLindenwood (Mo.)Jr.
Tommie Norton/HooperSouthern OregonJr.
Kyle ConleyMidland (Neb.)Jr.
Jeremy PadillaWaldorf (Iowa)Jr.
Nick HaferkampMcKendree (Ill.)Fr.
165 pounds
Ross MosherGreat Falls (Mont.)Sr.
Noah HattonGreat Falls (Mont.)Jr.
Kevin HardyNotre Dame (Ohio)Jr.
Clayton MacFarlaneLindenwood (Mo.)Jr.
Drae CoxLindenwood (Mo.)Jr.
Ben KnightMorningside (Iowa)Sr.
James CasadabanCumberland (Tenn.)Sr.
David ClemensCampbellsville (Ky.)Sr.
174 pounds
Chris ChionumaLindenwood (Mo.)Jr.
Glenn RheesGrand View (Iowa)Sr.
Jon BittengerNotre Dame (Ohio)So.
Austin VanderfordSouthern OregonJr.
Brian BlockMorningside (Iowa)So.
Alex McKinneyMissouri ValleySr.
Dirk HurrinLindenwood (Mo.)Jr.
Cameron ScremppDickinson State (N.D.)Jr.
184 pounds
Evan HinebauchMontana State-NorthernJr.
Michael FrenchGreat Falls (Mont.)Sr.
Kyle ReidMcKendree (Ill.)So.
Steven UrquizoDickinson State (N.D.)Sr.
Tommy PerezGrand View (Iowa)Jr.
Derek RottenbergSouthern OregonJr.
Clete HansonSimon Fraser (B.C.)Jr.
Andrew HairstonLindsey Wilson (Ky.)So.
197 pounds
Andrew SanchezMcKendree (Ill.)Sr.
Derek FooreNotre Dame (Ohio)Sr.
Deron WinnLindenwood (Mo.)Jr.
Charlie GibbsMissouri ValleySr.
Derek NightserGrand View (Iowa)Jr.
Jeff RomanWaldorf (Iowa)Sr.
Spencer AdamsCampbellsville (Ky.)Jr.
Jacob BradfordLindsey Wilson (Ky.)Fr.
Orlando ScalesNotre Dame (Ohio)So.
Levi RobersonMidland (Neb.)Jr.
Travis EwartMissouri ValleySr.
Levi CalhounBaker (Kan.)Sr.
Rudy SchaffrothMontana State-NorthernSo.
Josh GeppertDakota Wesleyan (S.D.)Jr.
Steven ButlerLindenwood (Mo.)So.
Bojan DjukicGrand View (Iowa)Jr.

Championship Information

NAIA Wrestling Championship

March 6-7, 2020
Hartman Arena
Park City, Kan.