NAIA Wrestling Coaches? Postseason Top 20 Poll

NAIA Wrestling Coaches? Postseason Top 20 Poll
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – For the fifth-consecutive year, Grand View (Iowa) holds the No. 1 ranking in the postseason edition of the NAIA Wrestling Coaches’ Top 20 Poll, the national office announced Wednesday. The Vikings won their fifth-straight team national championship with an NAIA record 210 total points.

Top 25 Highlights (historical information dates back to 2000-01)
• Grand View (Iowa) pushes its top-ranked streak to 31-straight polls and 36 all-time. Former member Lindenwood (Mo.) holds the record for most No 1 appearances since 2000-01 with 39.
• Ten of Grand View’s 11 national qualifiers earned All-America status, including three national champions – Jacob Colon (133 pounds), Michael Pixley (184 pounds) and Dean Broghammer (285 pounds).
• With the team championship, the Vikings are the first team in NAIA history to win five-consecutive national titles. Additionally, Grand View is only the fifth program in collegiate wrestling history (NAIA, NJCAA, NCAA) to win five-or-more consecutive championships. The other programs to do so are NCAA Division I Iowa (six-straight (1995-2000) and nine-straight (1978-1986)), NCAA Division I Oklahoma State (seven-straight (1937-1949)), NCAA Division II Cal State-Bakersfield (five-straight (1979-1983)) and NCAA Division II Cal Poly (seven-straight (1968-1974)).
• Montana State-Northern jumps up to No. 2 with 104 points. The Lights had six All-Americans at this year’s championships, highlighted by a runner-up finish by Taylor Kornoely at 285 pounds.
• Rounding out the top five are No. 3 Indiana Tech (80.5 points), No. 4 Missouri Valley (75.5 points) and No. 5 Campbellsville (Ky.) (66.5 points).
• Six of the 10 weight classes have new top-ranked grapplers: Mitch Pawlak, Indiana Tech (125 pounds), Andrew Schulte, Concordia (Neb.) (141 pounds), Victor Hughes, Baker (Kan.) (149 pounds), Colby Crank, Baker (Kan.) (157 pounds), Cody Linton, Doane (Neb.) (197 pounds) and Dean Broghammer, Grand View (Iowa) (285 pounds)
• No. 20 (tied) Northwestern (Iowa) and No. 20 (tied) Ottawa (Kan.) are the two newcomers to the poll, as both schools had one All-American at the national championship.
• Since 2001, only Grand View (2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-16), former members Notre Dame (Ohio) (2010-11) and Lindenwood (2006-07) have spent the entire season ranked No. 1.

Poll Methodology
• The poll was voted upon by a panel of head coaches representing each of the six national qualifying groups.
• One day prior to the national poll, each qualifying group rater submits the top six individuals from each weight class in his geographic area into the system. Only wrestlers listed on a qualifying group ballot are considered for the national ballot.
• The top 16 individuals in each weight class is based on how each voter ranks the best individuals. An individual receives 20 points for each first place vote, 18 for second place and so on through the list. This same point system is used to determine the team ranking.
• The postseason poll was determined using the individual and team results from the national championships
• For the complete Top 20 calendar, click here.

2015-16 NAIA Wrestling Coaches’ Postseason Top 20 Poll (March 10)
Rank Previous Rank School Total Team Points
1 1 Grand View (Iowa) 210
2 3 Montana State-Northern 104
3 4 Indiana Tech 80.5
4 2 Missouri Valley 75.5
5 7 Campbellsville (Ky.) 66.5
T6 T17 Baker (Kan.) 57.5
T6 T17 Doane (Neb.) 57.5
T8 6 Concordia (Neb.) 54.5
T8 14 Dickinson State (N.D.) 54.5
10 T8 Southern Oregon 52
11 15 Wayland Baptist (Texas) 49
12 T12 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) 48.5
13 5 Oklahoma City 47
14 10 Life (Ga.) 37
15 T12 Williams Baptist (Ark.) 35.5
16 11 York (Neb.) 32
17 RV Midland (Neb.) 29
18 20 Warner Pacific (Ore.) 28.5
19 T8 Menlo (Calif.) 27
T20 RV Northwestern (Iowa) 24
T20 RV Ottawa (Kan.) 24

Dropped from the Top 20: Great Falls (Mont.) (No. 16); Cumberland (Tenn.) (No. 19)

Others receiving votes: Morningside (Iowa) 23.5; Cumberland (Tenn.) 19; Cumberlands (Ky.) 19; Great Falls (Mont.) 18.5; Simpson (Calif.) 15.0; Brewton-Parker (Ga.) 11.5; Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) 10.5; Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) 10; Jamestown (N.D.) 10; St. Catharine (Ky.) 7; Briar Cliff (Iowa) 6.5; Missouri Baptist 5.5; William Penn (Iowa) 5; Davenport (Mich.) 4.5; Central Baptist (Ark.) 4; Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.) 4; Graceland (Iowa) 3; Hastings (Neb.) 3; Southeastern (Fla.) 3; Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.) 1; Lyon (Ark.) 0.5.

Top-Ranked Individuals | Individual Rankings
125 – Mitch Pawlak, Indiana Tech
133 – Jacob Colon, Grand View (Iowa)
141 – Andrew Schulte, Concordia (Neb.)
149 – Victor Hughes, Baker (Kan.)
157 – Colby Crank, Baker (Kan.)
165 – Blake Cooper, Warner Pacific (Ore.)
174 – Riley Boomer, Missouri Valley
184 – Michael Pixley, Grand View (Iowa)
197 – Cody Linton, Doane (Neb.)
285 – Dean Broghammer, Grand View (Iowa)

Championship Information

NAIA Wrestling Championship

March 6-7, 2020
Hartman Arena
Park City, Kan.