2013 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 2

2013 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 2

By: Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. Sam Atkin of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) has been named the NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Atkin was chosen for his performance during the week of Sept. 16 – 22 and was selected out of a pool of conference, independent and unaffiliated group award winners.

Atkin, a junior from Lincolnshire, England, cruised to an individual title at the Runners Soul Erik Anderson Invitational in Spokane, Wash., on Sept. 21. His time of 25:14 topped a field of 186 runners that included a pair of NCAA Division I members – Gonzaga (Wash.) and Lipscomb (Tenn.) – and two nationally ranked NCAA Division II schools – Simon Fraser (B.C.) and Cal Baptist. Atkin previously claimed an individual title at the Clash of the Inland Northwest on August 31.  

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Michael McCulloch, Columbia (Mo.); Tim Williams, Missouri Baptist; Kaleb Wilson , William Woods (Mo.); Arnold Mutuse, Tennessee Wesleyan; Tanner Thomas , Truett-McConnell (Ga.); Danzel Jefferson, St. Andrews (N.C.); Kody Shriver, Eastern Oregon; Paul Adams, Oregon Tech; Eric Alldritt, Concordia (Ore.); Justin Holden, Corban (Ore.); Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Tyler Herber, Huntington (Ind.); Mark Babbey, Marian (Ind.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); J.j. Weimer, Grace (Ind.); Noah Kiprono, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Sancho Ridesattthedoor, Carroll (Mont.); Marc Klimas, Great Falls (Mont.); Garret Ehlers, Morningside (Iowa); Ben Sievert, Concordia (Neb.); Kwame Jackson, Xavier (La.); Cris Renteria, Central Methodist (Mo.); Vincent Tadokoro, Baker (Kan.); Colton McNinch, Southwestern (Kan.); Hunter Stayton, Kansas Wesleyan; Jeo Mendez, Ottawa (Kan.); Jeremy Johnson, Berea (Ky.); Seth Prince, Indiana East; Brad Liston, Shawnee State (Ohio); John-Paul Williamson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Jonathan Gears, Cumberlands (Ky.); Herbert Beyale, III, Haskell (Kan.); Tj Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); David Guillen, Texas at Brownsville; Patrick Mutai, Wiley (Texas); Kyle Wardwell, Oklahoma City; Robert Dupoint, Science & Arts (Okla.); Zach Sollie, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); Jacob Alplund, Northwood (Fla.); Paul McKenna, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Jonathan Nusbaum, Warner (Fla.); Trevor Coules, Ave Maria (Fla.); Kyler Kathman, Southeastern (Fla.); Jacob Towne, Aquinas (Mich.); Samuel Parlette, Siena Heights (Mich.).

2013 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 18): Mike Blaszczyk, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 2 (September 25): Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

Championship Information