2013 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 4

2013 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 4

By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. Paul Adams of Oregon Tech has been named the NAIA Men's Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Adams was chosen for his performance during the week of Sept. 30 – Oct. 6 and was selected out of a pool of conference, independent, and unaffiliated grouping award winners.

Adams, a sophomore from Klamath Falls, Ore., placed second in the 201-runner Gold Division fieldmade up of NAIA, Junior College, Club and Unattached runnersat the 39th Annual Charles Bowles Willamette Invitational, hosted by NCAA Division III Willamette (Ore.), on Oct. 5 in Salem, Ore. Adams covered the 8-kilometer course in 24:19.6, recording one of the fastest times in Oregon Tech history and finishing less than two seconds behind individual titlist Ryan Cassidy of Victoria (B.C.). With their respective times, Cassidy and Adams would have also topped the meet’s Cardinal Division, made up of runners from NCAA Division I, Division II and Division III programs.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Taylor Whitmore, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Anthony Simpson, Bryan (Tenn.); Roderick Bowman, Tennessee Wesleyan; Danzel Jefferson, St. Andrews (N.C.); Tanner Thomas, Truett-McConnell (Ga.); Taylor Tefelski, Milligan (Tenn.); Wayne Smith , William Jessup (Calif.); Daniel Pena, UC Merced; Eric Alldritt, Concordia (Ore.); Justin Holden, Corban (Ore.); Kody Shriver, Eastern Oregon; Mizael Carrera, Robert Morris (Ill.); Mike Blaszczyk, St. Francis (Ill.); Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Tyler Herber, Huntington (Ind.); hunter johnson, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Sancho Ridesattthedoor, Carroll (Mont.); Johnny Rutford , Nebraska Wesleyan; Terrence Green, Tougaloo (Miss.); Jeremy Johnson, Berea (Ky.); Seth Prince, Indiana East; Connor Mulvaney, Point Park (Pa.); John-Paul Williamson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Jonathan Gears, Cumberlands (Ky.); Brad Liston, Shawnee State (Ohio); Herbert Beyale, III, Haskell (Kan.); Tj Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Victor Rotich, Wiley (Texas); David Swiatocha, Texas Wesleyan; Leonel Ayala, Emmanuel (Ga.); Jordan Travis, Spring Hill (Ala.); Doug Mumme, Belhaven (Miss.); Jonathan Malbrue, Loyola (La.); Anthony Vecchio, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Vincent Bett, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); No Nominee, Warner (Fla.); No Nominee, Northwood (Fla.); No Nomination, Ave Maria (Fla.); Alex Kitchin, Concordia (Mich.); Aaron Belcher, Indiana Tech; Vince Varricchio, Lourdes (Ohio); Dustin Brummel, Davenport (Mich.); Samuel Parlette, Siena Heights (Mich.).

2013 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 18): Mike Blaszczyk, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 2 (September 25): Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 3 (October 2): Eric Avila, Southern Oregon
Week 4 (October 9): Paul Adams, Oregon Tech

Championship Information