2013 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 5

2013 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 5

By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. Adam Godwin of Oklahoma Baptist has been named the NAIA Men's Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Godwin was chosen for his performance during the week of Oct. 7 – 13 and was selected out of a pool of conference, independent, and unaffiliated grouping award winners.

Godwin, a senior from Edmond, Okla., won the NAIA Preview Meet on Oct. 12 at Rim Rock Farm in Lawrence, Kan. Godwin bested the 272-runner field with an 8-kilometer time of 24:34.21. Led by Godwin, the No. 13-ranked Bison finished fourth behind No. 3 Aquinas (Mich.), No. 8 Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) and No. 4 Shawnee State (Ohio) with a team 8k time of 2:09:35.

In a 30-team preview meet field that included eight ranked teams and six teams who received votes in last week’s coaches’ poll, Godwin’s Bison placed ahead of several notable programs including: No. 12 Concordia (Neb.), No. 21 Southwestern (Kan.), No. 22 Indiana Tech, No. 24 Dordt (Iowa) and receiving votes teams Saint Xavier (Ill.), Saint Mary (Kan.), Indiana Wesleyan, Missouri Valley, Park (Mo.) and Central Methodist (Mo.).

On the women’s side, Godwin’s counterpart, Hannah Helker topped the 268-runner field with a 5-kilometer time of 17:02.46, leading the No. 15-ranked Bison to a third place finish behind No. 9 Dordt and No. 14 Taylor (Ind.). Helker earned NAIA Women’s Cross Country National Runner of the Week honors for her performance. Oklahoma Baptist’s Godwin and Helker achieve the first Cross Country National Runner of the Week sweep since College of Idaho’s Greg Montgomery and Hillary Holt did so on Oct. 26, 2012.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Michael McCulloch, Columbia (Mo.); Kaleb Wilson, William Woods (Mo.); Thomas Chelulei, Park (Mo.); Taylor Whitmore, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Paul Adams, Oregon Tech; Brian Corcoran, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Ethan Gallagher, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Kyle Anderson, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Ethan Evans, Taylor (Ind.); John Wilson, Indiana Wesleyan; Ryan Smith, Goshen (Ind.); Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Oliver Lange, Westminster (Utah); Rico Gutierrez, Great Falls (Mont.); Noah Kiprono, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Ben Sievert, Concordia (Neb.); Cris Renteria, Central Methodist (Mo.); Vincent Tadokoro, Baker (Kan.); Phillip Cheriyout, Missouri Valley; Brooks Ballou, Saint Mary (Kan.); Jeremiah Gerardy, Bethany (Kan.); Hunter Stayton, Kansas Wesleyan; Cole Carlson, Ottawa (Kan.); Joel Allen, Tabor (Kan.); Connor Mulvaney, Point Park (Pa.); Brad Liston, Shawnee State (Ohio); John-Paul Williamson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Chad Upshaw, Haskell (Kan.); Tj Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Aubrey Barnes, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Michael Hoffman, Dakota State (S.D.); Richard Wright, Valley City State (N.D.); David Guillen, Texas at Brownsville; Victor Rotich, Wiley (Texas); Jonathan Yanez, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Peter Koskey, Oklahoma City; Elias Poolaw, Science & Arts (Okla.); Channing Stringer, William Carey (Miss.); Zach Sollie, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); John Russell, Spring Hill (Ala.); Josh Thatcher, Southern Wesleyan (S.C.); Jacob Alplund, Northwood (Fla.); Vincent Bett, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Jon Riley, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Christopher Orbe, St. Thomas (Fla.); Trevor Coules, Ave Maria (Fla.); Anthony Vecchio, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Jonathan Nusbaum, Warner (Fla.); Deion Cossio, Southeastern (Fla.); Louis Falland, Cornerstone (Mich.); Zach Stepanovich, Aquinas (Mich.); Samuel Parlette, Siena Heights (Mich.); Cam Magro, Davenport (Mich.); Aaron Belcher, Indiana Tech.

2013 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 18): Mike Blaszczyk, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 2 (September 25): Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 3 (October 2): Eric Avila, Southern Oregon
Week 4 (October 9): Paul Adams, Oregon Tech
Week 5 (October 16): Adam Godwin, Oklahoma Baptist

Championship Information