2013 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 7

2013 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 7

By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. Eric Avila of Southern Oregon has been named the NAIA Men's Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Avila was chosen for his performance during the week of Oct. 21 – 27 and was selected out of a pool of conference, independent, and unaffiliated grouping award winners.

Avila, a native of Chula Vista, Calif., won the Beaver Classic, hosted by NCAA Division I Oregon State on Oct. 25 in Corvallis, Ore. The junior outpaced the 106-runner field, covering the 8-kilometer course in 24:15 and finishing six seconds ahead of his nearest competitor. The time was Avila’s fastest of the season and led Southern Oregon to a second place finish behind NCAA Division I Portland (Ore.). Each of the Raiders scoring five placed among the top 20 individuals, with times ranging from Avila’s 24:15 to 25:28.

With this week’s selection, Avila becomes the second athlete to earn multiple Runner of the Week awards in 2013. Sam Atkin of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) was the first to do so, earning his second Runner of the Week nod on Oct. 23.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Thomas Chelulei, Park (Mo.); Jacob Pinkley, Missouri Baptist; Kaleb Wilson , William Woods (Mo.); Anthony Simpson, Bryan (Tenn.); Nathan Meeuwenberg , Milligan (Tenn.); Luis Gonzalez, Truett-McConnell (Ga.); Roderrick Bowman, Tennessee Wesleyan; Spencer Lewis, Cal Maritime; Scott Minor, Oregon Tech; Mizael Carrera, Robert Morris (Ill.); Ethan Gallagher, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Dylan Reyes, St. Francis (Ill.); Kyle Anderson, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Parker Williams, Indiana Wesleyan; Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Dante Carter, Dickinson State (N.D.); Sancho Ridesattthedoor, Carroll (Mont.); Rico Gutierrez, Great Falls (Mont.); Crichton Matthew, The Master's (Calif.); Garret Ehlers, Morningside (Iowa); Beau Billings, Concordia (Neb.); Kwame Jackson, Xavier (La.); Phillip Cheriyout, Missouri Valley; Cris Renteria, Central Methodist (Mo.); Jeo Mendez, Ottawa (Kan.); Joel Allen, Tabor (Kan.); Brooks Ballou, Saint Mary (Kan.); Jeremy Johnson, Berea (Ky.); Seth Prince, Indiana East; Connor Mulvaney, Point Park (Pa.); Brad Liston, Shawnee State (Ohio); Brett Pierce, Campbellsville (Ky.); Stephen Sartoris, Cumberlands (Ky.); John-Paul Williamson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Jeff Austin, York (Neb.); Chad Upshaw, Haskell (Kan.); Tj Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Kevin Brown, Grand View (Iowa); Michael Hoffman, Dakota State (S.D.); Adam Godwin, Oklahoma Baptist; Matthew Crow, Science & Arts (Okla.); Arya Bahreini, Oklahoma City; Leonel Ayala, Emmanuel (Ga.); Paul Freese, Loyola (La.); Vincent Bett, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Jonathan Nusbaum, Warner (Fla.); Trevor Coules, Ave Maria (Fla.); No Nominee, Northwood (Fla.); Anthony Vecchio, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Deion Cossio, Southeastern (Fla.); Jon Riley, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Aaron Belcher, Indiana Tech; Louis Falland, Cornerstone (Mich.); Vince Varricchio, Lourdes (Ohio).

2013 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 18): Mike Blaszczyk, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 2 (September 25): Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 3 (October 2): Eric Avila, Southern Oregon
Week 4 (October 9): Paul Adams, Oregon Tech
Week 5 (October 16): Adam Godwin, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 6 (October 23): Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 7 (October 30): Eric Avila, Southern Oregon

Championship Information