2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 1

2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 1

By Mike DeVader, Communications and Sports Information Intern

Paul McKenna of Embry-Riddle (Fla.) has been named the NAIA Men's Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. McKenna was chosen for his performance during the week of Sept. 1-7 and was selected out of a pool of conference and independent award winners.

McKenna, a sophomore from Clearwater, Fla., crossed the finish line first in the NCAA Division I South Florida Invitational on Sept. 5. He led the Eagles to victory in the 12-team, 127-runner field in which Embry-Riddle was the only NAIA school participating. He finished the race with a time of 25:38.

McKenna defeated runners from five NCAA Division I schools, including Florida Gulf Coast, Miami, South Florida, Florida International and Florida Atlantic.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Thomas Chelulei, Park (Mo.); Joseph Mullen, Tennessee Wesleyan; Taylor Tafelsky, Milligan (Tenn.); Winston Rheinbolt, Montreat (N.C.); Roger Herrera, Reinhardt (Ga.); Lucas Updike, Eastern Oregon; Salvador Cordova, Purdue Calumet (Ind.); Hector Lopez, Calumet (Ind.); Jonathan Taylor, Taylor (Ind.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); David Thor, Carroll (Mont.); Shay Jonart, Westminster (Utah); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Alec DeVries, Morningside (Iowa); Kwame Jackson, Xavier (La.); Eduardo Esquivel, Baker (Kan.); Phillip Cheruiyot, Missouri Valley; Joe Magana, Sterling (Kan.); Josh Whittaker, Saint Mary (Kan.); Joel Allen, Tabor (Kan.); Nick Warnke, Southwestern (Kan.); Javier Vasquez, IU Kokomo; Benjanmin Call, Cumberlands (Ky.); Joey Hartlage, Campbellsville (Ky.); Kennedy Kiprop, Grand View (Iowa); Evan Bowman, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Dontayveous Allen, Jarvis Christian (Texas); Peter Koskey, Oklahoma City; Matthew Crow, Science & Arts (Okla.); Alex Ntagawa, Belhaven (Miss.); Toren Arnold, Loyola (La.); Jacob Alplund, Northwood (Fla.); Daniel Marin, Warner (Fla.); Kyler Kathman, Southeastern (Fla.); Matthew Smith, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Samuel Parlette, Siena Heights (Mich.); Alex Kitchin, Concordia (Mich.); Brenden Zoltek, Indiana Tech; Alex Barrientos, Lourdes (Ohio).

2014 Men’s Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 10): Paul McKenna, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)

Championship Information