2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 3

2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 3

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Matthew Clowes of Concordia (Ore.) has been named the NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Clowes was chosen for his performance during the week of Sept. 15 – 21 and was selected out of a pool of conference and independent award winners.

Clowes, a senior from Stoke-on-Trent, England, dominated a 71-man field at the 2014 Cascade Collegiate Conference Championship Preview on Sept. 19. The nine-time NAIA All-American in track and field covered the 8-kilometer course in 24:07, more than a full minute faster than second-place Jared Hixon of Southern Oregon. Clowes’ performance led the Cavaliers to a fourth-place team finish in the event.

Clowes owns three previous national weekly recognitions with two coming in indoor track and field – Feb. 2, 2012 and Jan. 22, 2014 – and one in outdoor track and field – April 16, 2014.

The fourth Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week will be announced Oct. 1.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Michael McCulloch, Columbia (Mo.); Kaleb Wilson, William Woods (Mo.); Jacob Pinkley, Missouri Baptist; Christian Brewer, Milligan (Tenn.); Winston Rheinbolt, Montreat (N.C.); Tim Murphy, Tennessee Wesleyan; Ahmed Ibrahim, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Alex Cordova, Purdue Calumet (Ind.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Ethan Evans, Taylor (Ind.); Cody Larson, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); David Thor, Carroll (Mont.); Drew Keller, Great Falls (Mont.); Kevin Horchler, Biola (Calif.); Mark Abrams, Morningside (Iowa); Ben Sievert, Concordia (Neb.); Stephan McNamara, Dordt (Iowa); Kwame Jackson, Xavier (La.); Terrence Green, Tougaloo (Miss.); Eduardo Esquivel, Baker (Kan.); Jack Williams, British Columbia; Anthony Weber, Saint Mary (Kan.); Eric Torres, Point Park (Pa.); Tristan Durbin, Brescia (Ky.); Seth Prince, Indiana East; Breydon Gates, Shawnee State (Ohio); Jacob Nathanson, Cumberlands (Ky.); Adam Sandidge, Campbellsville (Ky.); Nathan Tripp, Oklahoma Wesleyan; Chris Mitchell, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Cody Clark, Waldorf (Iowa); Kennedy Kiprop, Grand View (Iowa); Saromo Mugisha, William Penn (Iowa); Michael Carson, Dakota State (S.D.); David Guillen, Texas at Brownsville; Leonard Kiprono, Wiley (Texas); Peter Koskey, Oklahoma City; Isaac Lalang, Texas Wesleyan; Alex Ntagawa, Belhaven (Miss.); Paul Freese, Loyola (La.); Vincent Bett, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Anthony Vecchio, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Aaron Person, St. Thomas (Fla.); Trevor Coules, Ave Maria (Fla.); Jacob Alplund, Northwood (Fla.); Daniel Marin, Warner (Fla.); Rashaad Graves, Southeastern (Fla.); Steve Glinski, Aquinas (Mich.); Marcus Hobbs, Indiana Tech; Bradleaia Beyer, Lawrence Tech (MI); Nate Wichman, Lourdes (Ohio).

2014 Men’s Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 10): Paul McKenna, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 2 (September 17): Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (September 24): Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.) 

Championship Information