NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 4

NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 4
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Mizael Carrera of Robert Morris (Ill.) has been named the NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Carrera was chosen for his performance during the week of Sept. 22 – 28 and was selected out of a pool of conference and independent award winners.

Carrera, a senior from Northlake, Ill., bested a field of more than 500 collegiate and unattached runners at the Brissman- Lundeen Invitational, hosted by NCAA Division III Augustana (Ill.). The reigning Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Runner of the Year posted a time of 24.42.8, three seconds in front of second-place Zach Baker of the University of Iowa Track & Field Club. Overall, the Eagles finished 21st out of 39 teams.

This is the first national weekly honor for Carrera.

The fifth Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week will be announced Oct. 6.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Taylor Whitmore, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Jacob Pinkley, Missouri Baptist; Joseph Mullen, Tennessee Wesleyan; Luis Gonzales, Truett-McConnell (Ga.); Alex Cordova, Purdue Calumet (Ind.); Dylan Creger, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Neno Bellinotti, Indiana Wesleyan; Taylor Neff, Bethel (Ind.); Jay Welp, Morningside (Iowa); Danny Aldaba, Midland (Neb.); Rasheed Cunningham, Southern-New Orleans (La.); Kwame Jackson, Xavier (La.); Phillip Cheruiyot, Missouri Valley; Aaron Potter, Saint Mary (Kan.); Joel Allen, Tabor (Kan.); Jeo Mendez, Ottawa (Kan.); Eric Torres, Point Park (Pa.); Matthew Gastineau , York (Neb.); Chris Mitchell, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Saromo Mugisha, William Penn (Iowa); Ty Balduf, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Tyler Keith, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Richard Langdeaux, Valley City State (N.D.); David Guillen, Texas at Brownsville; Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Isaac Lalang, Texas Wesleyan; Tyler Helt, Oklahoma Baptist; Jonathan Malbrue, Loyola (La.); Spencer Head, Dalton State (Ga.); Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.); Alex Ntagawa, Belhaven (Miss.); Anthony Vecchio, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Alec Hernandez, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Trevor Coules, Ave Maria (Fla.); Ace Brown, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Daniel Marin, Warner (Fla.); Kevin Vroegh, Cornerstone (Mich.).

2014 Men’s Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 10): Paul McKenna, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 2 (September 17): Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (September 24): Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 4 (October 1): Mizael Carrera, Robert Morris (Ill.)

Championship Information