2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 5

2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 5

By Mike DeVader, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Matthew Clowes of Concordia (Ore.) has been named the NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Clowes was chosen for his performance during the week of Sept. 29-Oct. 5 and was selected out of a pool of conference and independent award winners.

Clowes, a senior from Stoke-on-Trent, England, won his second-straight event on Oct. 4 while competing in the 162-person field in the Gold Race of the Charles Bowels Invitational in Salem, Ore., hosted by Willamette University. The nine-time NAIA All-American in track and field finished the 8-kilometer course in 23:56, winning by a 45-second margin over second-place Cody Larson of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho).

Clowes now owns five national weekly recognitions with two coming in indoor track and field – Feb. 2, 2012 and Jan. 22, 2014 – and one in outdoor track and field – April 16, 2014. He was named Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week on Sept. 24.

The sixth Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week will be announced Oct. 15.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Dustin Price, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Joseph Mullen, Tennessee Wesleyan; Roger Herrera, Reinhardt (Ga.); Andrew Springer , Union (Ky.); Mizael Carrera, Robert Morris (Ill.); Cody Velthuizen, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Omero Montalvo, St. Francis (Ill.); Hector Lopez, Calumet (Ind.); Simon Reidsma, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Cody Larson, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Dakota Johnson, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); David Thor, Carroll (Mont.); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Josh Espinoza, Vanguard (Calif.); Nicolos Jones, Tougaloo (Miss.); Louis Edmiston, Kansas Wesleyan; Dylan Cope, Indiana East; Javier Vasquez, IU Kokomo; John-Paul Williamson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Breydon Gates, Shawnee State (Ohio); Samuel Beal, Cumberlands (Ky.); Travis Dillard, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Chris Pasquale, Viterbo (Wis.); Aidan Theard, Dickinson State (N.D.); Jeremiah Kipkemei, Wiley (Texas); Peter Koskey, Oklahoma City; Marcos Gutierrez, John Brown (Ark.); Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.); Zach Sollie, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); Paul Freese, Loyola (La.); Alex Ntagawa, Belhaven (Miss.); Alec Hernandez, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Daniel Marin, Warner (Fla.); Aaron Person, St. Thomas (Fla.); Deion Cossio, Southeastern (Fla.); Jacob Alplund, Northwood (Fla.); Samuel Parlette, Siena Heights (Mich.); Brenden Zoltek, Indiana Tech; Dustin Brummel, Davenport (Mich.); Alex Kitchin, Concordia (Mich.).

2014 Men’s Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 10): Paul McKenna, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 2 (September 17): Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (September 24): Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 4 (October 1): Mizael Carrera, Robert Morris (Ill.)
Week 5 (October 8): Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)

Championship Information