2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 6

2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 6

By Mike DeVader, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Isaac Lalang of Texas Wesleyan has been named the NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Lalang was chosen for his performance during the week of Oct. 6-12 and was selected out of a pool of conference and independent award winners.

Lalang, a sophomore from Eldoret, Kenya, won the Incarnate Word Cross Country Invitational in Live Oak, Texas, on Oct. 11 in record fashion. His time of 24:20 in the 8-kilometer event broke Texas Wesleyan’s highest mark, and in five races this year, Lalang has four wins and set five school records.

He finished ahead of Division I talent from the likes of Texas State, Abilene Christian (Texas) and Texas A&M Corpus Christi.

The seventh unveiling of Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week will take place Oct. 22.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Michael McCulloch, Columbia (Mo.); Taylor Whitmore, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Joseph Mullen, Tennessee Wesleyan; Tyler Beaver, St. Andrews (N.C.); Christian Brewer, Milligan (Tenn.); Jonathan Ferguson, Northwest (Wash.); Jared Hixon, Southern Oregon; Dylan Creger, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Salvador Cordova, Purdue Calumet (Ind.); Cody Velthuizen, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Neno Bellinotti, Indiana Wesleyan; Noah Haverdink, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Ryan Smith, Goshen (Ind.); Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Riley Ruppenthal, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Ben Sievert, Concordia (Neb.); Alec DeVries, Morningside (Iowa); Logan Hovland, Northwestern (Iowa); Brett Davis, Central Methodist (Mo.); Joel Allen, Tabor (Kan.); Jeo Mendez, Ottawa (Kan.); Patrick Rachford, Saint Mary (Kan.); Heath Hougas, Point Park (Pa.); Adam Sandidge, Campbellsville (Ky.); Nathan Tripp, Oklahoma Wesleyan; Travis Dillard, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Ochaung Akway, William Penn (Iowa); Tyler Keith, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Kennedy Kiprop, Grand View (Iowa); Malik Jackson, Valley City State (N.D.); Aidan Theard, Dickinson State (N.D.); David Guillen, Texas at Brownsville; Jeremiah Kipkemei, Wiley (Texas); Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas) ; Walker Clampitt, Oklahoma Baptist ; Hosea Maritim, St. Gregory's (Okla.); Marcos Gutierrez, John Brown (Ark.); Carlos Gonzalez, Bethel (Tenn.); Zach Sollie, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); Spencer Head, Dalton State (Ga.); Alex Guillory, Mobile (Ala.); Matt Graves, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Jacob Aplulnd, Northwood (Fla.); Emanuel Krieg, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Nic O'Neill, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Trevor Coules, Ave Maria (Fla.); Daniel Marin, Warner (Fla.); Deion Cossio, Southeastern (Fla.); Steve Glinski, Aquinas (Mich.); Louis Falland, Cornerstone (Mich.); Matt Adair, Indiana Tech; Alec Smith, Madonna (Mich.); Dustin Brummel, Davenport (Mich.); Samuel Parlette, Siena Heights (Mich.).

2014 Men’s Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 10): Paul McKenna, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 2 (September 17): Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (September 24): Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 4 (October 1): Mizael Carrera, Robert Morris (Ill.)
Week 5 (October 8): Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 6 (October 15): Isaac Lalang, Texas Wesleyan

Championship Information