2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 7

2014 NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 7

By Mike DeVader, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Damion Flores of Eastern Oregon has been named the NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Flores was chosen for his performance during the week of Oct. 13-19 and was selected out of a pool of conference and association of independent institutions award winners.

Flores, a senior from Mrytle Creek, Ore., led the Mountaineers to a first-place finish in the 8-kilometer, Inland Empire Championships on Oct. 18 in Lewiston, Idaho. Individually, Flores had to stop and change a shoe while in the sixth position. The delay caused him to fall into 26th-place, but he was able to rebound and finish in ninth.

Flores finished the 120-man competition in a time of 24:23.

The eighth and final edition of the Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week will take place Oct. 29.

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Garrett Kraal, Northwest Christian (Ore.); Roman Kirkov, Concordia (Ore.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Cody Larson, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Kwame Jackson, Xavier (La.); Alex Saunders, Southern-New Orleans (La.); Jevonte Ezzard, Dillard (La.); Joel Allen, Tabor (Kan.); Jeo Mendez, Ottawa (Kan.); Easton Moore, Friends (Kan.); Dallas Guy, Rio Grande (Ohio); Eric Torres, Point Park (Pa.); Dylan Cope, Indiana East; Donnie Whyte, Cumberlands (Ky.); Matthew Gastineau, York (Neb.); Reid Henry, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Chris Pasquale, Viterbo (Wis.); Marcos Gutierrez, John Brown (Ark.); Nathan Garcia, Texas Wesleyan; Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.); Colby Verdin, Mobile (Ala.); Paul Freese, Loyola (La.); Zach Sollie, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); Trevor Coules, Ave Maria (Fla.); No Nomination, Webber International (Fla.); Alex Kitchin, Concordia (Mich.).

2014 Men’s Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 10): Paul McKenna, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 2 (September 17): Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (September 24): Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 4 (October 1): Mizael Carrera, Robert Morris (Ill.)
Week 5 (October 8): Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 6 (October 15): Isaac Lalang, Texas Wesleyan
Week 7 (October 22): Damion Flores, Eastern Oregon

Championship Information