NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 2

NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 2

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, MO. - Matt Hall of Taylor (Ind.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Norris was selected for his performance from Sept. 5 – 11 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.)
Sr., Crete, Ill.

  • Finished first out of 142 total runners at the Indiana Wesleyan Invite on Sept. 9.
  • Helped lead Taylor to its first team victory on the season.
  • Recorded a time of 25:20 on the 8-kilometer course , 25 seconds faster than any other runner, to earn the individual title.

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Kaleb Wilson, William Woods (Mo.); Brien Lancaster, Montreat (N.C.); Tyler Agan, Point (Ga.); Jack Evans, Soka (Calif.); Ray Schireman, Southern Oregon; Nic Maszk, Eastern Oregon; Jeremy Brassard, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Jake Fitzgerald, St. Francis (Ill.); Jacob Reinking, Indiana Wesleyan; Chance Hyatt, Carroll (Mont.); Benson Koech, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Bradey Wilson, Montana Western; Beau Hyatt, Montana State-Northern; Ryan Thompson, Biola (Calif.); Lucas Keifer, Hastings (Neb.); Sean Skillern, Morningside (Iowa); Christopher August, Xavier (La.); Toren Arnold, Dillard (La.); Joseph Barnes, Benedictine (Kan.); Colton Forster, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Elliot Knernschield, Central Methodist (Mo.); Julio Martinez, Bethel (Kan.); Curtis Ivanoff, Bethany (Kan.); Adrian Ross, Shawnee State (Ohio); Adam Sandidge, Campbellsville (Ky.); Braden Curnow, Dakota State (S.D.); Nic Ganzeveld, Waldorf (Iowa); Dennis Gonzalez, Valley City State (N.D.); Jonathan Aman, Dickinson State (N.D.); Marbeq Edgar, Wiley (Texas); Salvador Campos, Indiana East; Eric Villagrana, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Fernando Orellana, Texas Wesleyan; Alex Guillory, Mobile (Ala.); Gabriel Hogan, Ave Maria (Fla.); Alvaro Rivadeneira, Webber International (Fla.); Lane Trapp, Lourdes (Ohio); Joey Ciaravino, Aquinas (Mich.); Cam Bredice, Davenport (Mich.).

2016-17 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 07): Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa) 
Week 2 (September 14): Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.)

Championship Information