NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 4

NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 4

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, MO. - Cam Knudsen of St. Francis (Ill.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Knudsen was selected for his performance on Sept. 23 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.)
Jr., Channahon, Ill.

  • Finished second out of 380 total runners at the Augustana (Ill.) Brissman-Lundeen Invitational on Sept. 23.
  • First NAIA runner to cross the finish line.
  • Recorded a time of 25:11 on the 8-kilometer course, three seconds faster than his teammate Brian Blaylock.

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: William Henry, Park (Mo.); Brandon Ellis, Milligan (Tenn.); Tyler Barber, Truett-McConnell (Ga.); Jordy Arriaga, Judson (Ill.); Chris Ramos, Purdue Northwest (Ind.); Miguel Flores, Calumet (Ind.); Jeremy Brassard, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Ben Rankin, Grace (Ind.); Benson Koech, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Russsell Kujala, Montana Western; Lucas Keifer, Hastings (Neb.); Jamal Boma, William Penn (Iowa); Joe Linder, Baker (Kan.); Jersey Boydstun, Southwestern (Kan.); Jermie Johnson , Saint Mary (Kan.); Julio Martinez, Bethel (Kan.); Trajon Hall, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Marquis Cox, Waldorf (Iowa); Christopher Moreno, Dickinson State (N.D.); Derek Barnett, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Sean Hilverding, Point Park (Pa.); Christopher Woodley, Carlow (Pa.); Dallas Guy, Rio Grande (Ohio); Yoel Rivas, Asbury (Ky.); Salvador Campos, Indiana East; Nicolas Binfield, WVU Tech; Max McNeill, Oklahoma City; Jerry Nava, SAGU (Texas); Leith Rawson, Mobile (Ala.); Avonte Boykins, Keiser (Fla.); Callum Drake, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Brandon Kempton, Warner (Fla.); Damian Etchevest, St. Thomas (Fla.); Colin DeYoung, Cornerstone (Mich.); Cameron Bredice, Davenport (Mich.)

2016-17 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 07): Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa) 
Week 2 (September 14): Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.) 
Week 3 (September 21): John Gay, British Columbia 
Week 4 (September 28): Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.)

Championship Information