2017 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 3 (Sept. 20)

2017 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 3 (Sept. 20)

By Trevor Lininger, Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Mark Shaw of Oklahoma City has been named the NAIA National Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Shaw was selected for his performance from Sept. 11 – 17 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Mark Shaw, Oklahoma City
So., Middlesbrough, England

  • Finished first out of 267 runners at the Missouri Southern Stampede
  • Ran an 8K with a time of 24:02
  • Helped his team finish seventh out of 27 teams

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Nathaniel Ogden, William Woods (Mo.); Tyler Byars, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Grant Uthlaut, Columbia (Mo.); Dax Willette, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.); Trevor Wingate, Marymount (Calif.); Jordan Bramblett, Embry-Riddle (Ariz.); Nic Maszk, Eastern Oregon; Mark French, Oregon Tech; Alex Martin, College of Idaho; Abel Hernanez, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Matthew King, Calumet (Ind.); Josh Roth, Taylor (Ind.); Carter Meyer, Grace (Ind.); Nolan Ryan, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Layne Ryerson, Carroll (Mont.); Rosten From, Doane (Neb.); Camren Sewell, Xavier (La.); Jeriell Jones, Tougaloo (Miss.); Paulino Sanchez, Missouri Valley; Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.); Trevor Albert, Grand View (Iowa); Colton Forster, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Nick Arnecke, SUNY-Delhi; Jersey Boydstun, Southwestern (Kan.); Tony Weber, Saint Mary (Kan.); Ian Meek, York (Neb.); Bret Crawford, Campbellsville (Ky.); Nicholas Grandperrin, Cumberlands (Ky.); Justin Tavner, Georgetown (Ky.); Seth Farmer, Shawnee State (Ohio); Joel Barlow, Cumberland (Tenn.); Kyle Robinson, Brescia (Ky.); Christopher Woodley, Carlow (Pa.); Adam Klipstine, Indiana East; Jacob Benjamin, John Brown (Ark.) ; Benson Koech, Texas Wesleyan ; Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.); Walter Ramsey, Loyola (La.); Braden Hardy, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Max Groff, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Anthony Frank, Indiana Tech

2017-18 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Sept. 6): Brian Blaylock, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 2 (Sept. 13): Mark French, Oregon Tech
Week 3 (Sept. 20): Mark Shaw, Oklahoma City

Championship Information