2017 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 5 (Oct. 4)

2017 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 5 (Oct. 4)

By Trevor Lininger, NAIA Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Tony Floyd of Madonna (Mich.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Floyd was selected for his performance from Sept. 25 – Oct. 1 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week

Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)
So., Westland, Mich.

  • Finished first out of 185 runners at the Louisville Cross Country Classic
  • Recorded an 8K time of 24:54
  • Ran the best time of all runners at the event, including NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and NAIA

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Tommy Skosky, Columbia (Mo.); Tyler Byars, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Kyle Gabrielson, William Woods (Mo.); Jose Diaz , Reinhardt (Ga.); Brien Lancaster, Montreat (N.C.); Eduardo Andrade, St. Andrews (N.C.); Mark French, Oregon Tech; Noab Oberriter, Southern Oregon; Robert Swoboda, Corban (Ore.); Nic Maszk, Eastern Oregon; Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.); Wesley Meyer, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Hunter Smith, Taylor (Ind.); Vincent Kibunja, Goshen (Ind.); Nolan Ryan, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Josh Jessop, Montana Western; Jackson Duffey, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Peyton Jones, Providence (Mont.); Layne Ryerson, Carroll (Mont.); Skyler Mikesell, The Master's (Calif.); Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.); Jesse Hooten, British Columbia; Tony Weber, Saint Mary (Kan.); Seth Farmer, Shawnee State (Ohio); Bret Crawford, Campbellsville (Ky.); Joel Barlow, Cumberland (Tenn.); Nicholas Grandperrin, Cumberlands (Ky.); Gilbert Ramirez, Southwest (N.M.); Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.); Kyle Benecke, Ohio Christian; Adam Klipstine, Indiana East; Christopher Woodley, Carlow (Pa.); Cameron Botkin, Midway (Ky.); Kyle Robinson, Brescia (Ky.); Michael Ecker-Randolph, WVU Tech; Mark Shaw, Oklahoma City; Omero Rodriguez, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Cooper Herrington, William Carey (Miss.); Braden Hardy, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Walter Ramsey, Loyola (La.); Cristian Slaton, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Gabriel Hogan, Ave Maria (Fla.); Trae Miller, Southeastern (Fla.); Peterley Louis, St. Thomas (Fla.); Sean Trainor, Webber International (Fla.)

2017-18 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Sept. 6): Brian Blaylock, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 2 (Sept. 13): Mark French, Oregon Tech
Week 3 (Sept. 20): Mark Shaw, Oklahoma City
Week 4 (Sept. 27): Benson Koech, Texas Wesleyan
Week 5 (Oct. 4): Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)

Championship Information