2017 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 8 (Oct. 25)

2017 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 8 (Oct. 25)

By Trevor Lininger, NAIA Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Riley Sine of Northwest (Wash.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Sine was selected for his performance from October 16 – 22 and was chosen out of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Riley Sine, Northwest (Wash.)
So., Spokane, Wash.

  • Finished first out of 114 runners at the William Jessup Warrior Invitational
  • Recorded an 8K time of 24:29
  • Sine beat the second place finisher by 6 seconds, and the third place finisher by 21 seconds

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Nicholas Rotich, Park (Mo.); Malik Holman, Columbia (Mo.); Nathaniel Ogden, William Woods (Mo.); Dax Willette, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.); Nathan Baker, Milligan (Tenn.); Jose Diaz, Reinhardt (Ga.); Kevin Poteracke, Southern Oregon; Alex Martin, College of Idaho; Alan Guzman, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.); Matthew King, Calumet (Ind.); Chris Maxon, Indiana Wesleyan; Benjamin Wiebe, Goshen (Ind.); Hunter Smith, Taylor (Ind.); Layne Ryerson, Carroll (Mont.); Fred Petsch, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Peter Smith, Northwestern (Iowa); Jason Kenny, Morningside (Iowa); Solomon Stevens, Edward Waters (Fla.); Jeriell Jones, Tougaloo (Miss.); Camren Sewell, Xavier (La.); Paulino Sanchez, Missouri Valley; Shane Burns, Evangel (Mo.); Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.); Sam Baumer, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Tony Webr, Saint Mary (Kan.); Ian Meek, York (Neb.); Jersey Boydstun, Southwestern (Kan.); Benjamin Call, Cumberlands (Ky.); Bret Crawford, Campbellsville (Ky.); Joel Barlow, Cumberland (Tenn.); Seth Farmer, Shawnee State (Ohio); Matthew Young, Jamestown (N.D.); Nathaniel Aguilar, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Gilbert Ramirez, Southwest (N.M.); Xaiver Stephens, Point Park (Pa.); Kyle Benecke, Ohio Christian; Mohamed Farah, Rio Grande (Ohio); Cole Dudley, Indiana East; Mark Shaw, Oklahoma City; Luis Lopez, St. Gregory's (Okla.); Omero Rodriguez, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Josh Uzelac, John Brown (Ark.); Benson Koech, Texas Wesleyan; Austin Childress, Bethel (Tenn.); Jacob Nkamasiai, Keiser (Fla.); Gabriel Hogan, Ave Maria (Fla.); Jordan Gonzalez, Southeastern (Fla.); Sage Reiger, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Peterley Louis, St. Thomas (Fla.); Sean Trainor, Webber International (Fla.); Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.); Josh Mussenn, Michigan-Dearborn; Arik LaFave, Aquinas (Mich.); Anthony Frank, Indiana Tech

2017 Men’s Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Sept. 6): Brian Blaylock, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 2 (Sept. 13): Mark French, Oregon Tech
Week 3 (Sept. 20): Mark Shaw, Oklahoma City
Week 4 (Sept. 27): Benson Koech, Texas Wesleyan
Week 5 (Oct. 4): Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)
Week 6 (Oct. 11): Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)
Week 7 (Oct. 18): Nolan Ryan, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 8 (Oct. 25): Riley Sine, Northwest (Wash.)

Championship Information