NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 2

NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 2

KANSAS CITY, MO. – Tony Floyd of Madonna (Mich.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Floyd was selected for his performance from Sept. 3 – Sept. 9 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)
JR, Westland, Mich.

• Floyd ran a 24:56 to finish second place out of 302 runners at the Calvin Knight Invitational
• The junior finished the race only 3.3 seconds behind the first place runner
• Floyd helped Madonna to a third place overall finish, in front of Cornerstone, Indiana Tech, and other WHAC programs

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Nicholas Rotich, Park (Mo.) ; Geoffrey Windsor, Lyon (Ark.) ; Romeo Blackburn, Tennessee Wesleyan ; Tyler Bates, Milligan (Tenn.) ; Tyler Agan, Point (Ga.) ; Marcos Cervantes, College of Idaho ; Gabriel Esparza, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Omar Paramo, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Caleb DeWeerd, Trinity Christian (Ill.) ; Jesse Saxton, Indiana Wesleyan ; Daniel Gerber, Taylor (Ind.) ; Evan Herr-Knispel, Bethel (Ind.) ; Isaac Petsch, Rocky Mountain (Mont.) ; Spencer Swaim, Carroll (Mont.) ; Jonathan Harrison, Montana Western ; Iaiah Runs Above, Montana State-Northern ; Joseph Tobin, Hope International (Calif.) ; Eric Steiger, Dordt (Iowa) ; Matt Young, Jamestown (N.D.) ; Radovan Kemboi, Central Methodist (Mo.) ; John Danner, Benedictine (Kan.) ; James Lindstrom, Mount Mercy (Iowa) ; Zachary Grover, Graceland (Iowa) ; Miguel Tapia, Indiana Northwest (Ind.) ; Jonathan Jones, Friends (Kan.) ; Brett Crawford, Campbellsville (Ky.) ; Braden Curnow, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Andrew Murley, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Derek Barnett, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) ; Kyle Benecke, Ohio Christian ; Dan Nehnevaj, WVU Tech ; Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.) ; Max McNeill, Oklahoma City ; Ben Martin, John Brown (Ark.) ; Nathan Whitton, Mobile (Ala.) ; Bosco Hakuzimana, Brewton-Parker (Ga.) ; Gabriel Hogan, Ave Maria (Fla.) ; Colin De Young, Cornerstone (Mich.)

2018-19 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners

Week 1 (September 05): Jonny Handel, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 2 (September 12): Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)

Championship Information