NAIA - Men's Cross Country - Championship Preview

2019 Men’s Cross Country National Championship Preview

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The 2019 Men’s Cross Country National Championship will take place in Vancouver, Wash. on November 22.

Championship Preview Highlights (all times Pacific Time)

  • We will see 37 teams and 81 individuals at the 64th Annual Men’s Cross Country National Championship.
  • This is the sixth year that the championship has been hosted in Vancouver, Wash.
  • The Cascade Collegiate Conference serves as the host for the championship.
  • The 8k race will start at 10:30 a.m. at the Fort Vancouver National Historic Site. The race will not be streamed live
  • The awards ceremony will be streamed live and can be found HERE. The ceremony will start at approximately 1:00 p.m.
  • The timer will be sending live results HERE. Keep in mind these results are not finalized until after the review period.
  • Fort Vancouver National Historic Site is the only national park unit in the Portland-metro area, in sight of snowy mountain peaks and a vibrant urban landscape, this park has a rich cultural past. From a frontier fur-trading post to a powerful military legacy, the magic of flight, and the origin of the American Pacific Northwest. The park preserves and interprets stories of transition, settlement, conflict, and community.
  • The 2018 men’s cross country national champions, Oklahoma City, returns to the championship and enters the field as No. 1 in the latest Top 25 poll. The Stars have held the No. 1 rank for the entire 2019 season.
  • The defending national champions will be looking to capture their fifth national title and second consecutive title.
  • 2018 individual champion, Colin DeYoung of Cornerstone (Mich.), is not returning to the 2019 championship as he was a redshirt this season.
  • College of Idaho, Southern Oregon and Then Master’s (Calif.) have all attended the national championship for the last 10 years.
  • There are six teams that are attending the national championship for the first recorded time over the last 10 years: Antelope Valley (Calif.), College of the Ozarks (Mo.), Doane (Neb.), Hope International (Calif.), Loyola (La.) and Northwest (Wash.)
  • The NAIA meet record for the 8k is 23:14.0 set by Silah Misoi of Life (Ga.) in 1996.

For another look at the qualifiers list CLICK HERE

Team Participation from 2010-2019

School Appearances
Antelope Valley (Calif.) 1
Baker (Kan.) 4
College of Idaho 10
College of the Ozarks (Mo.) 1
Columbia (Mo.) 7
Cornerstone (Mich.) 7
Dakota State (S.D.) 2
Doane (Neb.) 1
Dordt (Iowa) 3
Eastern Oregon 9
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) 6
Goshen (Ind.) 2
Hope International (Calif.) 1
Huntington (Ind.) 2
Indiana Wesleyan 8
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) 9
Loyola (La.) 1
Milligan (Tenn.) 3
Montreat (N.C.) 2
Northwest (Wash.) 1
Oklahoma City 7
Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) 9
Oregon Tech 5
Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) 4
Rocky Mountain (Mont.) 3
Saint Xavier (Ill.) 2
SCAD Savannah (Ga.) 4
Shawnee State (Ohio) 8
Southern Oregon 10
St. Francis (Ill.) 9
St. Mary (Kan.) 3
Taylor (Ind.) 6
The Masters (Calif.) 10
Wayland Baptist (Texas) 6
West Virginia Tech 2
William Woods (Mo.) 3
Xavier (La.) 4

Championship Information