Player of the Week - No. 8

Player of the Week - No. 8

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Becca Hurley of Northwestern (Iowa) has been named the final NAIA National Division II Women’s Basketball Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Hurley was selected based on her performances from Feb. 14 - 20 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

In the Red Raiders’ 108-56 blowout victory over Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) on Feb. 14, the senior guard shot 11-of-15, totaling 27 points, six assists and five rebounds. Despite playing just 18 minutes in Northwestern’s 109-64 win against No. 4 Sioux Falls (S.D.) on Feb. 18, Hurley matched her career-high with seven 3-pointers on eight attempts and scored 32 points. She also added eight rebounds, six assists and three steals.

The 5-9 guard hailing from Pleasant Hill, Iowa, finished the week averaging 29.5 points, 6.5 rebounds and 6.0 assists. She shot 71.9 percent from the field and was 10-for-12 (.833) from 3-point land.

Hurley cemented her spot in Northwestern history on Jan. 19 by becoming the fifth Red Raider to score 2,000 points in a career. She reached the milestone with a 29-point performance against then-No. 18 Briar Cliff (Iowa).

The senior has positioned herself among the nation’s elite in several offensive categories. She ranks first in free throw percentage (.934), third in total scoring (629), fifth in points per game (22.5), sixth in both total assists (150) and 3-point field goal percentage (.451) and eighth in assists per game (5.36).

The last Red Raider to be named Player of the Week was two-sport standout Randa Hulstein on Feb. 10, 2009.

Nominees: Britany Gasper, Sterling (Kan.); Hannah Sabol, Concordia (Mich.); Brittany Bird, Brescia (Ky.); Ali Dolphin, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Kyle Miller, Eastern Oregon; Felicia Stevenson, Central Christian (Kan.); Sandy Jenkins, Ave Maria (Fla.); Amanda Himes, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Heather Mandela, Milligan (Tenn.); Katelynn Lamb, Black Hills State (S.D.); Rachel Kenney, Marian (Ind.); Kim Peek, Judson (Ill.); Lara Canders, Pacific Union (Calif.).

2011 Composite Award Winners
Week 1: Kallie Benike, Davenport (Mich.)
Week 2: Sharon Houston, Indiana Northwest
Week 3: Jennifer Jorgensen, Grand View (Iowa)
Week 4: Jennifer Jorgensen, Grand View (Iowa)
Week 5: Laura Taylor, Mayville State (N.D.)
Week 6: Melanie McCreight, Iowa Wesleyan
Week 7: Amanda Himes, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)
Week 8: Becca Hurley, Northwestern (Iowa)

Championship Information

NAIA DII Women's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Tyson Events Center 
Sioux City, Iowa