Player of the Week - No. 2

Player of the Week - No. 2
KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kendra De Jong of Northwestern (Iowa) has been named the NAIA National Division II Women’s Basketball Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. De Jong was selected based on her performances from Jan. 2 – 8 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

De Jong has spurred the two-time defending national champions to a resurgence after the Red Raiders dropped four of their first eight games. The 2011 NAIA First-Team All-American poured in 15 points and grabbed eight rebounds as No. 20 Northwestern upset No. 7 Concordia (Neb.), 74-67, on Jan. 4. Three days later, De Jong went for a career-high 33 points on 15-for-22 shooting in a 78-70 win over Doane (Neb.). She averaged 24.0 points, 9.5 rebounds and 1.5 steals per contest in the two games, helping extend the Red Raiders’ winning streak to nine games and place them in a tie for first place in the Great Plains Athletic Conference with a 7-2 league mark.

The 6-foot junior forward from Hospers, Iowa, ranks highly among the elite players in the NAIA in several categories. She ranks ninth nationally in field goal percentage (.559), 20th in points per game (18.1) and 27th in rebounds per game (8.2).

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

The next Player of the Week announcement will be on Jan. 17.

Nominees: Samantha Flietstra, Cornerstone (Mich.); Steffani Liscum, Arizona Christian; Jennifer Jorgensen, Grand View (Iowa); Kellie Schuneman, Jamestown (N.D.); Jessalyn Jackson, Northwest (Wash.); Tia Wineinger, Indiana Southeast ; Brett Bates, Southwestern (Kan.); Morgan Smith, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Laura Johnson, Bethel (Ind.); Kristen Moose, Houghton (N.Y.); Mykiea Russell, Montreat (N.C.); Sharon Houston, Indiana Northwest; Moneva Fields, Calumet (Ind.).

2011 Composite Award Winners (Schedule)
Week 1: Lindsey Waters, Union (Ky.)
Week 2: Kendra De Jong, Northwestern (Iowa)

Championship Information

NAIA DII Women's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Tyson Events Center 
Sioux City, Iowa