Seahawks Win Back-To-Back National Championships

Seahawks Win Back-To-Back National Championships

Story by Tommy Chasanoff, NAIA Media Coordinator

Pooler, Ga.
– (Results: Individual | Team | Combined) After entering the final round tied for first place, Keiser (Fla.), formerly Northwood (Fla.), shot the lowest round in the past five years, 293, to claim the 2016 NAIA Women’s Golf National Championship Title. This marks the second-straight year and the third time in school history (2003 and 2015) that the Seahawks claimed top honors.

The Seahawks carded a five-over par, 293, in the final round to win the national crown by 11 strokes at Savannah Quarters Country Club in Pooler, Ga. SCAD Savannah (Ga.) and William Woods (Mo.) finished tied for second place with both schools shooting a two-round total of 610.
Elsa Westin led the way for Keiser, shooting two-under par 142 (71-71) to be named the championship runner-up for the second year in-a-row.

Kaitlyn Riley Cumberlands (Ky.) was named the individual medalist of the championships after shooting a four-under par 140 (72-68) for her tournament. Her second round 68 is tied for the lowest 18-hole score in NAIA Women’s Golf National Championship history. It was the first time since 2013 when Jessica Schiele shot a 68 in the second round of the championship.

For the second-straight year and the third time in championship history that there was a tie for national runner-up and for the second-straight year SCAD Savannah and William Woods were named co-National Runner-Up. SCAD Atlanta (Ga.), Cumberlands, and Texas Wesleyan finished in a three-way tie for fourth place at 615.

This is the first time in the 22 year history that NAIA Women’s Golf National Championship has been shorten due to weather and the first time that a champion has been crowned after 36 holes of play.

This year’s national championships concluded with an awards ceremony that included the announcement of Keiser’s Brandon Miller as the 2016 NAIA Women’s Golf National Coach of the Year and the all-tournament team. The all-tournament team consists of the top-15 individual finishers, including ties.

Also awarded were the NAIA Champions of Character Awards for their display of character during each round of the national championship. Aspen Bryant of Bethany (Kan.), Annie Getzin of Marian (Ind.), April Leonard of William Carey (Miss.) along with the entire Keiser team received this recognition.

For more information on the NAIA Women’s Golf National Championship click here.

2016 NAIA All-Tournament Team: (listed by school)
Wendy Monfort, Bellevue (Neb.)
Kaitlyn Riley, Cumberlands (Ky.)
Diane Lim, Coastal Georgia
Lauren Kruzewski, Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Bailey Bostler, Indiana Tech
Wiebke Schlender, Indiana Tech
Elsa Westin, Keiser (Fla.)
Rebecka Holmstrom, Keiser (Fla.)
Kyla Clancy, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Ashley Madden, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.)
Paulina Camacho, SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Sofia Molinaro, SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Jacey Patton, Texas Wesleyan
Franzi Knoetsch, USC Beaufort (S.C.)
Hannah Duvall, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Kennedy Windlan, William Carey (Miss.)
Demi Coertze, William Penn (Iowa)
Jodie Peacock, William Woods (Mo.)
Katie Warren, William Woods (Mo.)


Championship Information

NAIA Women's Golf Championship

May 12-15, 2020
Lincoln Park Golf Course
Oklahoma City, Okla.