2013 NAIA Women?s Soccer All-Americans Announced

2013 NAIA Women?s Soccer All-Americans Announced

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2013 NAIA Women’s Soccer All-America teams Thursday. The NAIA All-America Committee, which consists of the NAIA-Women’s Soccer Coaches Association officers and seven additional women’s soccer coaches, select the three 11-member teams.

Concordia (Ore.) senior midfielder Hannah Kimsey, a Vancouver, Wash., native, was named the 2013 Select Sport America-NAIA National Player of the Year. She is the third Cavalier – Caitie Davidson (2004) and Jackie Pronovost (2008) are the other two – to receive the award since its inception in 1997. Kimsey, who was a first team All-American last season, played a key role in Concordia’s banner season. She paced the squad and ranked seventh nationally with 14 assists this season, while tying for fourth on the team with seven goals, including the game-winner in the Cavaliers’ 1-0 quarterfinal victory over Embry-Riddle (Fla.) on Dec. 4.

Embry-Riddle’s Tova Tortensson – a member of the 2013 third team – headlines the group of returning All-Americans as the only four-time honoree. Helen Lynskey of Northwood (Fla.), Florence Dadson of Robert Morris (Ill.) and Karly Linton of Spring Arbor (Mich.) are three-time award winners, while seven individuals are receiving their second All-America award.

Overall, 15 programs landed at least one player on the first, second or third team. Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) and Embry-Riddle led all clubs with five honorees, followed by Westmont (Calif.) with four and Concordia with three.

The 2013 Select Sport America-NAIA Women’s Soccer National Coach of the Year will be announced at the National Soccer Coaches’ Association of America (NSCAA) National Convention held in Philadelphia, Pa., January 16 – 17.

2013 NAIA Women's Soccer All-America Team

First Team        
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Lindsey Smith Westmont (Calif.) GK Sr. Pleasanton, Calif.
Carola Schneider Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) D Fr. Kolding, Denmark
Linda Eshun Robert Morris (Ill.) D Sr. Accra, Ghana
Samantha Johnson Concordia (Ore.) D Sr. Hailey, Idaho
Hannah Kimsey Concordia (Ore.) MF Sr. Vancouver, Wash.
Natasha Gensetter Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) MF So. Hegnau, Switzerland
Alison Hensley Westmont (Calif.) MF Sr. Huntington Beach, Calif.
Ayaki Shinada Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) MF Jr. Nagoya, Japan
Helen Lynskey Northwood (Fla.) F Sr. Rotherham, England
Esther Anyanwu Brenau (Ga.) F Sr. Lagos, Nigeria
Megan Daniels Concordia (Calif.) F Jr. Irvine, Calif.
Second Team        
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Matilda Ojaniemi Northwood (Fla.) GK Sr. Kalmar, Sweden
Amanda Diesen Westmont (Calif.) D Sr. Irvine, Calif.
Rebekka Gisladottir Embry Riddle (Fla.) D Sr. Keflavik, Iceland
Rebekah Counce Mobile (Ala.) D Sr. San Antonio, Texas
Linda Chukwuji Brenau (Ga.) MF Sr. Lagos, Nigeria
Martine Olsen Embry Riddle (Fla.) MF Sr. Hosle, Norway
Paige Eli Davenport (Mich.) MF Jr. Huddersfield, England
Renee Hurd Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) MF Sr. Pensacola, Fla.
Valerie Obita Embry Riddle (Fla.) F Sr. Lindome, Sweden
Lauren Nanez Concordia (Calif.) F Jr. La Mirada, Calif.
Olivia Chu Cumberland (Tenn.) F Fr. Edmonton, Canada
Third Team        
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Lindsay Kitson Cumberland (Tenn.) GK Jr. Edmonton, Canada
Lauren Satcher William Carey (Miss.) D Sr. Hattiesburg, Miss.
Katarina Simic Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) D Jr. Malmo, Sweden
Tova Tortensson Embry Riddle (Fla.) D Sr. Stockholm, Sweden
Karly Linton Spring Arbor (Mich.) MF Sr. Midland, Mich.
Tiffany Dimaculangan Westmont (Calif.) MF Jr. Glendora, Calif.
Fabiola Sanchez Martin Methodist (Tenn.) MF So. Herdia, Costa Rica
Erin Huisingh Concordia (Ore.) MF Jr. Pasco, Wash.
Audrey Sullivan Corban (Ore.) F Sr. Puyallup, Wash.
Andrea Froshaug Embry Riddle (Fla.) F So. Oslo, Norway
Florence Dadson Robert Morris (Ill.) F Sr. Cape Coast, Ghana
Honorable Mention        
Name School      
Elizabeth Vaughn Aquinas (Mich.)      
Meredith Ury Asbury (Ky.)      
Hollie Babut Ashford (Iowa)      
Maren Heller Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)      
Shelby Shiraldi Baker (Kan.)      
Ashley Washburn Benedictine (Kan.)      
Elizabeth Campbell Brenau (Ga.)      
Tori Brown Brenau (Ga.)      
Kaleigh Dodson Cal State San Marcos      
Jamie Carter Carroll (Mont.)      
Stephanie Hale Columbia (Mo.)      
Jasmin Ayala Concordia (Ore.)      
Michelle Ward Cumberland (Tenn)      
Rhianne Parsons Cumberland (Tenn)      
Taylor Nay Cumberland (Tenn)      
Shauna Gilpin Cumberland (Tenn.)      
Laken Duchar-Clark Davenport (Mich.)      
Lizzie Paul Davenport (Mich.)      
Michelle Marcus Davenport (Mich.)      
Jocelyn Baker Georgia Gwinnett      
Carianne Sobey Grace (Ind)      
Meredith Hollar Grace (Ind)      
Amanda Olson Hastings (Neb.)      
Jenn Lerner Hastings (Neb.)      
Jessie Craig Indiana Wesleyan      
Kristen Morency John Brown (Ark.)      
Angela Bianchi Judson (Ill.)      
Melissa Martinez Kansas Wesleyan      
Crystal Sanchez Kansas Wesleyan      
Michela Bengtsson Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)      
Amanda Ferrick Madonna (Mich.)      
Anna Becerra Martin Methodist (Tenn.)      
Taylor Samsel Martin Methodist (Tenn.)      
Jackie Mourne Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)      
Frida Bremer Northwestern Ohio      
Sarah Huchet Northwestern Ohio      
Lousie Anderson Northwood (Fla.)      
Meghan McMahon Oklahoma City      
Betsy Hetrick Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)      
Rachel Kilbry Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)      
Krista Barikos Reinhardt (Ga.)      
Rachel Hein Rocky Mountain (Mont.)      
Heather Jones Saint Francis (Ind.)      
Laerke Michaelsen SCAD Savannah (Ga.)      
Alyssa Bricker Southern Oregon      
Sydney Paulsen Southern Oregon      
Ashley DeNio Spring Arbor (Mich.)      
Courtney Harrison Spring Arbor (Mich.)      
Ashley Dexter St. Ambrose (Iowa)      
Courtney Trujillo St. Thomas (Fla.)      
Melony Piviones St. Thomas (Fla.)      
Sara Mira St. Thomas (Fla.)      
Jasmine Bensen The Master's (Calif.)      
Katie Farris The Master's (Calif.)      
Carina Spengler Thomas (Ga.)      
Bekah Gonzales Trinity Christian (Ill.)      
Rachael Webb Trinity Christian (Ill.)      
Samantha Yasatan Trinity International (Ill.)      
Jordan Davidson Vanguard (Calif.)      
Jessica Harris Westminster (Utah)      
Claudia Saucedo William Carey (Miss.)      
Emmaleigh Davis William Carey (Miss.)      
Kristen Satcher William Carey (Miss.)      
Linfa Jones William Carey (Miss.)      
Rocio Ruiz William Jessup (Calif.)      

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Soccer Championship

Nov. 23, 2019 Opening Round – 
Campus Sites

Dec. 2 - Dec. 7, 2019
Orange Beach Sportsplex
Orange Beach, Ala.