2016 NAIA Women's Tennis All-America Teams Announced

2016 NAIA Women's Tennis All-America Teams Announced

By: Colbi Howser, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2016 NAIA Women’s Tennis All-America teams Tuesday. Honorees were selected by the NAIA All-America committee, with 16 student-athletes being named to both the first and second teams.

National champions Georgia Gwinnett and national semifinalist Auburn Montgomery led all programs with six players earning All-America honors. Valeria Podda (First Team), Klara Dohnalova (First Team), Chiara Di Salvo (First team), Alyona Vasilyeva (Second Team), Helga Pinones (Second Team) and Sophie Feller (Second Team) were the All-Americans for the Grizzlies. Paula Diaz (First Team), Kelly Southwood (First Team), Iris Verweij (First Team), Celine Lenertz (Second Team), Alejandra Gil (Second Team) and Anna Rudolfova (Second Team) represented the Warhawks.

Six additional teams – Brenau (Ga.), Davenport (Mich.), Indiana Wesleyan, SCAD Savannah (Ga.), Westmont (Calif.) and William Carey (Miss.) – each had two players achieve All-America status. Valeria Poddas of Georgia Gwinnett, was named the Marvin P. Richmond Outstanding Player for the national championship.

Chase Hodges of Georgia Gwinnett was named the 2016 NAIA Women’s Tennis National Coach of the Year. His Grizzlies defeated Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), 5-4, on Saturday, May 21, to win their second national championship in just three years of being a program.

2016 NAIA Women's Tennis All-America Teams

 First Team

Name School
Paula Diaz Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Kelly Southwood Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Iris Verweij Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Fatyha Berjane Brenau (Ga.)
Angelica Sepulveda Cumberland (Tenn.)
Isabella Dale Cumberlands (Ky.)
Valeria Podda Georgia Gwinnett 
Klara Dohnalova Georgia Gwinnett
Chiara Di Salvo Georgia Gwinnett 
Katie Wilson Indiana Wesleyan 
Lucia Solis Indiana Wesleyan 
Mariah Plauth Mobile (Ala.)
Camile Gbaguidi SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Lauren Stratman Westmont (Calif.)
Ines Costamagna Westmont (Calif.)
Charlene Goreau Xavier (La.)

Second Team

Name School
Desiree Jackson Arizona Christian 
Celine Lenertz Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Alejandra Gil Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Anna Rudolfova Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Rebecca Pijls Brenau (Ga.)
Alexi Loomis Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Alyssa Fuentes Davenport (Mich.)
Puck Luttikhuis Davenport (Mich.)
Alyona Vasilyeva Georgia Gwinnett 
Helga Pinones Georgia Gwinnett 
Sophie Feller Georgia Gwinnett 
Rachel Bottorff Indiana Wesleyan 
Jessica King Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Paige Murdock SCAD Savnnah (Ga.)
Nataliia Beliaeva William Carey (Miss.)
Sara Valero Marin William Carey (Miss.)


Championship Information

NAIA Women's Tennis Championship

May 12-16, 2020
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.