NAIA Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 6

NAIA Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 6
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Jura Levy of Oklahoma Baptist has been named the NAIA National Women’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week and Jennifer Maag of Hastings (Neb.) has been selected as the NAIA National Women’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Levy and Maag were chosen based on their performances from April 14 – 20. The honor is the second of the year for Maag and first for Levy.

Levy, a native a Trelawny, Jamaica, registered two individual first-place finishes and helped the Bison earn the top spot in the 4x400-meter relay at the Sooner Athletic Conference (SAC) Championships April 18 – 19. The eight-time individual national champion (six indoor and two outdoor) was named the SAC Athlete of the Year for her effort. Levy improved her own top-ranked time in the 100-meters in a race that saw three of the NAIA’s top four times with an 11.46 – fastest among NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NCCAA in addition to the NAIA. She then clocked a 23.38 in the 200-meters, which is the second time this season Levy has broken the 24-second mark. The Bison’s 4x400 time of 3:46.59 is third-best in the NAIA, trailing only Indiana Tech (3:44.14) and Wayland Baptist (Texas) (3:45.84).

Maag, a junior from Scottsbluff, Neb., reclaimed the top mark in the NAIA in the shot put with a toss of 14.99m (49’-2.25”) at the Kansas Relays on April 16. The two-time indoor national champion took seventh overall in the event and was the top non-NCAA Division I participant. In the hammer throw, Maag finished 11th with a lifetime best 51.71m (169’-8”), which ranks seventh in the NAIA.

For a complete look at the NAIA Women’s Outdoor Track and Field performance list, click here.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Elizabeth Grubbs, Park (Mo.); Madeline Emme, William Woods (Mo.); Aliyah Reams, Missouri Baptist; Lauren Grindstaff, Milligan (Tenn.); Hillary Holt, College of Idaho; Talissa Baldovino, Eastern Oregon; Christa Collmer, Concordia (Ore.); Amelia Maguin, Southern Oregon; Ericka McDaniel , Northwest (Wash.); Crystal Daniels, Calumet (Ind.); Kristina Chambliss, Cardinal Stritch (Wis.); Jo Boren, Grace (Ind.); Erin Price, Taylor (Ind.); Leah Espositio, Carroll (Mont.); Kati Hengle, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Lauren Shomaker, Hastings (Neb.); Marissa DeWispelare, Doane (Neb.); Kim Wood, Concordia (Neb.); Kailtyn Emig, Central Methodist (Mo.); Dorothy Adams, Missouri Valley; Joy Spear Chief-Morris, British Columbia; Rachel Renken, Friends (Kan.); Kaley Kinnamon, McPherson (Kan.); Layne Callow, Berea (Ky.); Nathelie Zetrenne, Campbellsville (Ky.); Darcy Mascotti, Cumberlands (Ky.); Sarah Biehl, Shawnee State (Ohio); Sam Francois, Clarke (Iowa); Shaniece Dishmon, William Penn (Iowa); Hannah Stouffer, Grand View (Iowa); Aleona Reyes, Jamestown (N.D.); Gortia Ferguson, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Katrina Nolan, Oklahoma City; Denise Powell, Loyola (La.); Brianna Woods, Indiana Tech; Rachel Jerrils, Davenport (Mich.).

Field Nominees: Ashleigh Nalty, Missouri Baptist; Kaylee Ferrier , William Woods (Mo.); Kelsea Hurliman, Eastern Oregon; Enma Berg, Corban (Ore.); Emma Buchholz, Concordia (Ore.); Jessica Bates, College of Idaho; Amanda Head, Cardinal Stritch (Wis.); Erin McPherson, Grace (Ind.); Emily Stearns, Indiana Wesleyan; Naomi Grablowski, Taylor (Ind.); Alexis Gerry, Carroll (Mont.); Taylor Statton, Great Falls (Mont.); Karen Hutson, Northwestern (Iowa); Erin DeVries, Doane (Neb.); Liz King, Concordia (Neb.); Briana Greer, Central Methodist (Mo.); Arryana Barton, McPherson (Kan.); Kayla Wilson, Southwestern (Kan.); Abby Simon, Friends (Kan.); Simone Brown, Berea (Ky.); Christiana Harris, Campbellsville (Ky.); Taylor Mayes, Cumberlands (Ky.); Rachel Wesley, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Val Veiock, Grand View (Iowa); Alyssa Phillips, William Penn (Iowa); Jessica Meland, Valley City State (N.D.); Emerald Gyuricza, Jamestown (N.D.); Paige Kannady, Oklahoma Baptist; Janelle Durrough, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Courtney Lawson, Indiana Tech.

2014 Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 19): Jessica Mattos, Concordia (Ore.); Lexi Mitzel, Corban (Ore.)
Week 2 (March 26): Emma Buchholz, Concordia (Ore.); Ellie Staker, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 3 (April 2): Jennifer Maag, Hastings (Neb.); Stacy Warrior, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 4 (April 9): Becky Collier, Westmont (Calif.); Hillary Holt, College of Idaho
Week 5 (April 16): Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Zalika Dixon, Indiana Tech
Week 6 (April 23): Jennifer Maag, Hastings (Neb.); Jura Levy, Oklahoma Baptist

Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship

May 20-22, 2020 
Mickey Miller Blackwell Stadium
Gulf Shores, Ala.