NAIA Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 7

NAIA Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 7
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Jura Levy of Oklahoma Baptist has been named the NAIA National Women’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week and Chanel Roberts of Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) has been selected as the NAIA National Women’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Levy, who is receiving the honor for the second-straight week, and Roberts were chosen based on their performances from April 21 – 27.

Levy, a native of Trelawny, Jamaica, won an individual crown in 100-meters at the Drake Relays in Des Moines, Iowa, besting a field of NCAA Division I sprinters with a time of 11.63. Arguably the senior’s most impressive performance of the meet came as a member of the Bison’s sprint medley relay team. The squad consisting of Levy, Aspen Marical, Stacy Warrior and Hannah Helker took first place and set a meet record with a time of 3:47.03. Levy also took second place as a member of Oklahoma Baptist’s 4x100-meter relay and 4x400-meter relay teams.

Roberts, a freshman from Radcliff, Ky., won both the high jump and shot put at the Mid-South Conference Championships on April 26. In the high jump, Roberts set a new Lindsey Wilson record with a leap of 1.60m (5’-3”). Her put of 14.70m (48’-2.75”) shattered the previous meet record of 12.61m (41’-4.5”). Roberts, who with her performance at the meet earned Mid-South Conference Freshman of the Year honors, also took fourth-place in the long jump with a mark of 4.75m (15’-7”) and fifth in the 100-meters with a time of 12.94. In total, Roberts scored 29 of the Blue Raiders’ 185 points.

For a complete look at the NAIA Women’s Outdoor Track and Field performance list, click here.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Sami Berry, William Woods (Mo.); Jasmine Hurd, College of Idaho; Michelle Fletcher, Northwest Christian (Ore.); Cecilee Russell, Corban (Ore.); Michelle Snider, Northwest (Wash.); Hilary Halford, St. Francis (Ill.); Avante Newsome-Gunn, Bethel (Ind.); Erin Price, Taylor (Ind.); Micah Pollard, Grace (Ind.); Sarah McBeath, Indiana Wesleyan; Megan Mullaney, Carroll (Mont.); Nicole Brist, Great Falls (Mont.); Elysia Hodges, Westmont (Calif.); Kim Wood, Concordia (Neb.); Lauren Shomaker, Hastings (Neb.); Katie Bonnema, Dordt (Iowa); Devinn Rolland, Xavier (La.); Billi Pipes, Baker (Kan.); Katherine Dillard, Benedictine (Kan.); Amanda Buhr, Missouri Valley; Jordan Calderwood, Ottawa (Kan.); Jazmine Alexander, McPherson (Kan.); Kimberly Garrett, Sterling (Kan.); Angie Vailas, Friends (Kan.); Valarie Segay, Kansas Wesleyan; Ami Callow, Berea (Ky.); Darcy Mascotti, Cumberlands (Ky.); Nathelie Zetrenne, Campbellsville (Ky.); Halle Richards, Shawnee State (Ohio); Kailey Moorhead, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Bea Cameron, Georgetown (Ky.); Tiar'e Little Head, Haskell (Kan.); Dominique Guinnane, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Krista Bushofsky, Clarke (Iowa); Liz Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Kelsey Carbajo, Grand View (Iowa); Kayla Schumacher, Jamestown (N.D.); Brenda Filipe, Texas Wesleyan; Rileigh Darby-McClure, Oklahoma City; Lavornne Taylor, Southern Wesleyan (S.C.); Kelsee VanderBaan, Davenport (Mich.); Stephanie Marquardt, Siena Heights (Mich.); Brianna Woods, Indiana Tech.

Field Nominees: Kaylee Ferrier, William Woods (Mo.); Mikayla Westgerdes, Milligan (Tenn.); Jessica Mattos, Concordia (Ore.); Kassi Conditt, Oregon Tech; Alexa Lindseth, Northwest (Wash.); Chelsea Rimington, St. Francis (Ill.); Rachel Carman, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Christy Schultz, Indiana Wesleyan; Sabrina Whitaker, Grace (Ind.); Haley White, Taylor (Ind.); Samantha Giddings, Great Falls (Mont.); Kathleen Mulligan, Carroll (Mont.); Karissa Blank, Doane (Neb.); Kali Robb, Concordia (Neb.); Jennifer Maag, Hastings (Neb.); Devinn Rolland, Xavier (La.); Stephanie Nelson, Baker (Kan.); Brittany Brisco, Missouri Valley; Kayla Wilson, Southwestern (Kan.); Arryana Barton, McPherson (Kan.); Ashley Stanford, Sterling (Kan.); Kaitlyn Keck, Friends (Kan.); Kristi Ohlschwager, Bethany (Kan.); Simone Brown, Berea (Ky.); Bea Cameron, Georgetown (Ky.); Christiana Harris, Campbellsville (Ky.); Courtney Rhodes, Cumberlands (Ky.); Colleen Frank, Grand View (Iowa); Sara Strauel, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Kayla Hanson, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Emily Messerschmidt, Viterbo (Wis.); Jenna Coghlan, Valley City State (N.D.); Nikki Iverson, Jamestown (N.D.); Leeann Gibson, Southern Wesleyan (S.C.); Lauren Pannell, Indiana Tech; Kasey Renshaw, Siena Heights (Mich.); Lindsey Karpowicz, Aquinas (Mich.).

2014 Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 19): Jessica Mattos, Concordia (Ore.); Lexi Mitzel, Corban (Ore.)
Week 2 (March 26): Emma Buchholz, Concordia (Ore.); Ellie Staker, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 3 (April 2): Jennifer Maag, Hastings (Neb.); Stacy Warrior, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 4 (April 9): Becky Collier, Westmont (Calif.); Hillary Holt, College of Idaho
Week 5 (April 16): Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Zalika Dixon, Indiana Tech
Week 6 (April 23): Jennifer Maag, Hastings (Neb.); Jura Levy, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 7 (April 30): Chanel Roberts, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Jura Levy, Oklahoma Baptist

Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship

May 20-22, 2020 
Mickey Miller Blackwell Stadium
Gulf Shores, Ala.