2015 Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 4

2015 Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 4

By: Mike DeVader, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Rochene Smith of Wayland Baptist (Texas) has been named the NAIA National Women's Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week and Joelle Swanson of Oregon Tech has been named the NAIA National Women's Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Smith and Swanson were selected based on their performances from April 6 – 12. This is the fourth award of the 2015 outdoor track & field season.

Women’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week
Rochene Smith, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Fr., Jamaica

• Smith corralled three victories and a third-place finish this week at the NCAA Division II West Texas A&M Classic on April 11.
• The freshman ran a school record and the NAIA's fastest time of the season against 17 runners in the 100-meters (11.18). The time was converted for altitude to 11.21.
• In the 4x100-meter relay, she helped break a facility record with a finish of 45.17.
• Her other victory came in the 4x400-meter relay (3:47.11). Smith also finished in third in the 200-meters at 24.24.

Women's Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week
Joelle Swanson, Oregon Tech
Sr., Grants Pass, Ore.

• Swanson threw a career-best 46.33 meters (152-0) in the javelin at the Chico Twilight and Distance Carnival on April 10 in Chico, Calif.
• The senior outdistanced the next closest opponent by nearly 7.3 meters to win the event.
• The Grants Pass, Ore., native took down a field of 21 in the competition on the way to victory.
• She now ranks No. 1 in the NAIA, and is second on the Oregon Tech all-time list.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Lee Anna Sanders, William Woods (Mo.); Aliyah Reams, Missouri Baptist; Hannah Segrave, Milligan (Tenn.); Mykelle Andrews, Union (Ky.); Amelia Maguin, Southern Oregon; Amy Pfaff, College of Idaho; Megan Sullivan, Eastern Oregon; Susie Garza, Oregon Tech; Jenna Moody, St. Francis (Ill.); Jessica Disselkoen, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Sarah McBeath, Indiana Wesleyan; Alex Berends, Taylor (Ind.); Bethany Kuenzer, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Micah Pollard, Grace (Ind.); Claudia Hewston, Great Falls (Mont.); Jessica Raymond, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Lauren Shomaker, Hastings (Neb.); Marissa DeWispelare, Doane (Neb.); Kim Wood, Concordia (Neb.); Catherine Fakler, Xavier (La.); Briana Zumwalt, Central Methodist (Mo.); Laura Gibson, McPherson (Kan.); Sydney Roy, Friends (Kan.); Taylor Needham, Southwestern (Kan.); Sydney Roy, Friends (Kan.); Katie Guarnaccia, Point Park (Pa.); Morgan Stanley, Indiana East; Danielle Hoop, Cumberlands (Ky.); Megan Ashton, Shawnee State (Ohio); Amanda Farris, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Dominique Guinnane, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Myra Nichols, Clarke (Iowa); Kayla King, Viterbo (Wis.); Samantha Goff, Jamestown (N.D.); Austyn Copp, Dickinson State (N.D.); Cecilia David, Texas Wesleyan; Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist; Elena Oslund, Brenau (Ga.); Annie Cooks, William Carey (Miss.); Precious Semien, Loyola (La.); Amie Wimberly, Mobile (Ala.); Jessy Scarpone, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Kristen Metcalfe, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Megan Fitzgerald, Southeastern (Fla.); Shayla France, Indiana Tech; Tara Homfeld, Davenport (Mich.).

Field Nominees: Madelyn Scrivner, William Woods (Mo.); Trei Brown, Park (Mo.); Harley McBride, Eastern Oregon; McKenzie Warren, Concordia (Ore.); LaChrissa Safforld, St. Francis (Ill.); Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Lindsay Nichols, Marian (Ind.); Andrea Finkbeiner, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Avante Newsome-Gunn, Bethel (Ind.); Emily Stearns, Indiana Wesleyan; Haley White, Taylor (Ind.); Ashley Thoeny, Great Falls (Mont.); Karen Ettleman, Northwestern (Iowa); Jennifer Maag, Hastings (Neb.); Cassie Starks, Concordia (Neb.); Emily Keim, Morningside (Iowa); Lynetta Cook, Edward Waters (Fla.); Drew Chatters, Xavier (La.); Paige Rockers, Baker (Kan.); Stephanie Atkinson, Central Methodist (Mo.); Morgan Workman, Southwestern (Kan.); Kailtlyn Keck, Friends (Kan.); Bryanna Music, Ottawa (Kan.); Bryanna Music, Ottawa (Kan.); Vianka Cotton, Point Park (Pa.); Katie Browning, Rio Grande (Ohio) ; Alexis Braiser, Indiana East; JaNaiqua Horne, Campbellsville (Ky.); Chanel Roberts, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Courtney Rhodes, Cumberlands (Ky.); Abby Buehler, Waldorf (Iowa); Laura DeSmith, Viterbo (Wis.); Val Veiock, Grand View (Iowa); Jessica Meland, Valley City State (N.D.); Meghan Kratofil, Jamestown (N.D.); Gabriela Guerrero, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Elizabeth Dadzie, Oklahoma Baptist; Tiona Owens, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Ongelic Hill, Texas Wesleyan; Keionna Gines, William Carey (Miss.); Hannah Wentland, Mobile (Ala.); Jamie Gray, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Daisha Brown, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Kasey Renshaw, Siena Heights (Mich.); Lindsey Sechrist, Indiana Tech; Ayanna Stancle, Aquinas (Mich.); Molly Franke, Davenport (Mich.).

2015 Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field; Track)
Week 1 (March 25): McKenzie Warren, Concordia (Ore.); Alexis Browner, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 2 (April 1): Elizabeth Dadzie, Oklahoma Baptist; Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 3 (April 8): Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Maria Bernard, British Columbia
Week 4 (April 15): Joelle Swanson, Oregon Tech; Rochene Smith, Wayland Baptist (Texas)

Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship

May 20-22, 2020 
Mickey Miller Blackwell Stadium
Gulf Shores, Ala.