2017 Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 6 (April 26)

2017 Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 6 (April 26)

By Spencer Scheve, Athletics Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Adri Sigafoose of Aquinas (Mich.) has been named the final NAIA National Women's Outdoor Track Athlete of The Week and Jonina Brinson of Mobile (Ala.) has been named the final NAIA National Women's Outdoor Field Athlete of The Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Sigafoose and Brinson were selected based on their performances from April 17 – 23.  

Women's Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week: 
Adri Sigafoose, Aquinas, Mich.
Jr., McBain, Mich.

• Recorded a first-place finish in the 800-meters and a second-place finish in the 4x400-meter relay at the Al Owens Classic in Allendale, Mich., on April 22.
• Sigafoose hit the ‘A' standard in both of her events.
• Broke the Aquinas school record in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:10.34, which is third in the NAIA.
• Anchored the 4x400-meter relay to help led the Saints to a second-place finish with a time of 3:53.61, which is seventh in the NAIA.

Women's Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week                                                            
Jonina Brinson, Mobile (Ala.) 
Jr., Swainsboro, Ga.

• Recorded a first-place finish in the high jump, triple jump and the long jump at the Southern States Athletic Conference (SSAC) Meet on April 21-22.
• Brinson hit the ‘A' standard in the triple jump with a mark of 12.03.
• In the high jump, Brinson cleared 1.55 to finish first out of seven athletes.
• Finished first out of 14 athletes in the long jump with a mark of 6.06.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here

Track Nominees:  Megan Van Harn, William Woods (Mo.); Leah Chance, Tennessee Wesleyan; Erica Stone, Milligan (Tenn.); Molly Jo Smith, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Jenna Moody, St. Francis (Ill.); Raven Arellano, Grace (Ind.); Plenseh-Tay Sakeuh, Taylor (Ind.); Brittany Sharp, Marian (Ind.); Mindy Kaufman, Montana Western; Courtney Hallock, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Janelle Bethea, Hastings (Neb.); Rachel Bramhall, Doane (Neb.); Payton Boer, Morningside (Iowa); Brianna Pace, Xavier (La.); Gloria Mares, Baker (Kan.); Asia Laudermilch, William Penn (Iowa); Katie Roberts, Grand View (Iowa); Theresa Zehnle, Central Methodist (Mo.); Anika Ricks, Friends (Kan.); Alisn Stevens, Saint Mary (Kan.); Taylor Needham, Southwestern (Kan.); Rashe' Boynton, Bethel (Kan.); Maureen McGaha, Cumberlands (Ky.); Shannon Martin, Campbellsville (Ky.); Morgan Straight, Waldorf (Iowa); Kylee Voigt, Jamestown (N.D.); Katie Ervin, WVU Tech; Tyanna Petty, Rio Grande (Ohio); Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.); Ashley Toschlog, Indiana East; Alexis Flores, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Destinee Collins, Brewton-Parker (Ga.); Jonina Brinson, Mobile (Ala.); Annie Cooks, William Carey (Miss.); Emily Poole, Dalton State (Ga.); Leah Banks, Loyola (La.); Jhari Williams, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Caroline Cook, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Jasmine Stein, Lourdes (Ohio); Leondra Correia, Indiana Tech; Asia Gardner, Siena Heights (Mich.) 

Field Nominees: Abby Stricker, Columbia (Mo.); Madelyn Scrivner, William Woods (Mo.); Liz Maller, Milligan (Tenn.); Anna Miller, Northwest (Wash.); Paige Dodd, Eastern Oregon; Brandi Hosford, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Carlie Vannatta, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Raven Kelly, St. Francis (Ill.); Bethany Bailey, Indiana Wesleyan; Bethany Kuenzer, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Hannah Treadway, Grace (Ind.); Tricia Svoboda, Concordia (Neb.); April Faimon, Hastings (Neb.); Kati Kneifl, Morningside (Iowa); Drew Chatters, Xavier (La.); Breanna Judkins, Clarke (Iowa); Elayna VanArsdale, William Penn (Iowa); Jessica Gardiner, Kansas Wesleyan; Abby Belt, Friends (Kan.); Bryna Rietcheck, Bethel (Kan.); Alyssa Windle, Tabor (Kan.); Jayla Pugh, Campbellsville (Ky.); Peyton Russell, Waldorf (Iowa); Kaiann Arellano, Jamestown (N.D.); Kylie Martin, Dakota State (S.D.); Katie Roberts, Rio Grande (Ohio); Jamie Fauver, WVU Tech; Mackenzie Boles, Indiana East; Kiana Daley, Point Park (Pa.); Taylor Hagins, Loyola (La.); Lachen Terrell, William Carey (Miss.); Jaslyn Joseph, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Taylor Morris, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Marissa Johnson, Siena Heights (Mich.)

20117 Women's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)                    
Week 1 (March 22): Bailey Dell, Northwest Christian (Ore.), Jhari Williams, USC Beaufort (S.C.) 
Week 2 (March 29): Bailey Dell, Northwest Christian (Ore.), Natasha Poleon, Wiley (Texas) 
Week 3 (April 5): Kali Robb, Concordia (Neb.), Natasha Poleon, Wiley (Texas) 
Week 4 (April 12): Kali Robb, Concordia (Neb.), Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.) 
Week 5 (April 19): Chelsea Baker, Friends (Kan.), Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.) 
Week 6 (April 26): Jonina Brinson, Mobile (Ala.), Adri Sigafoose, Aquinas (Mich.)

Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship

May 20-22, 2020 
Mickey Miller Blackwell Stadium
Gulf Shores, Ala.