2018 Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 5 (April 18)

2018 Women's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 5 (April 18)

By Katie Green, Manager of Athletic Communications and Media

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Anna Shields of Point Park (Pa.) has been named the NAIA National Women's Outdoor Track Athlete of The Week and Carlie Vannatta of Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) has been named the NAIA National Women's Outdoor Field Athlete of The Week, the national office announced Wednesday. The duo was selected based on their performances from April 9 - 15 and were chosen out of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.  

Women’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week
Anna Shields, Point Park

JR, Torrington, Conn.

  • Finished first out of 128 in the 800-meter with a time of 2:07.76 at the NCAA Division I Bucknell Bison Outdoor Classic.
  • Finished two-of-63 in the 1500-meter with a time of 4:17.39 at the NCAA Division I Bucknell Bison Outdoor Classic.

Women’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week
Carlie Vannatta, Olivet Nazarene
SR, Zionsville, Ind.

  • Finished one-of-54 in the hammer with a mark of 52.45.
  • Finished one-of-52 in the discus with a mark of 43.57.
  • Finished 3-of-43 in shot put with a mark of 12.93.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here

Track Nominees: Rachel Franklin, Park (Mo.); Nikki Smith, Columbia (Mo.); Jasmine Smith, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Kristine Treijs, William Woods (Mo.); Alexandria Johnson, Tennessee Wesleyan; Amberly Melendez, Northwest (Wash.); Arianna Daniel, Southern Oregon; Rachel Roelle, Eastern Oregon; Jenna Moody, St. Francis (Ill.); April VanRyn, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Alex Berends, Taylor (Ind.); Rebecca Groh, Indiana Wesleyan; Brooklyn Duewel, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Ariel Jensen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Samantha Mundel, Carroll (Mont.); Corinne Hamilton, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Michelle Mumm, Morningside (Iowa); Caitlyn Cotton, Hastings (Neb.); Sarah Lunn, Northwestern (Iowa); Justyce Riggs, Xavier (La.); Gloria Mares, Baker (Kan.); Keishonda Rose, Benedictine (Kan.); Bethany Brown, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Emily Kemling, Tabor (Kan.); Shelby Hundley, Friends (Kan.); Jen Andres, Bethel (Kan.); Safia Bright, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Kate Spencer, Shawnee State (Ohio); Ashli Pope, Cumberlands (Ky.); Morgan Straight, Waldorf (Iowa); Allyssa Weitkum, Valley City State (N.D.); Kylee Voigt, Jamestown (N.D.); Josie Wolf, Dakota State (S.D.); Renae Dennie, Wiley (Texas); Alexis Oaks, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Tyanna Petty-Craft, Rio Grande (Ohio); Alexis Sheets, WVU Tech; Clare Brown, Carlow (Pa.); Ashley Toschlog, Indiana East (Ind.); Devin Johnson, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Destiny Barclift, SAGU (Texas); Aminat Olowora, Oklahoma City; Macey Policka, Loyola (La.); Ratesha Smith, Webber International (Fla.); Ayanna Moody, Indiana Tech 

Field Nominees: Madelyn Scrivner, William Woods (Mo.); Aaliyah Brown, Park (Mo.); Megan McCrary, Missouri Baptist; Gabrielle Morgan, St. Louis Pharmacy (Mo.); Rachel Lawhorn, Tennessee Wesleyan; Brianna Buck, Milligan (Tenn.); Lauren McGowne, Southern Oregon; Hayley Morse, College of Idaho; Makayla Akers, Eastern Oregon; Faith Kraatz, Multnomah (Ore.); Brittany Bodnar, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Danielle Wojciechowski, Bethel (Ind.); Kasey Keith, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Madison Carson, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Bethany Lacock, Carroll (Mont.); Alye Fjell, Providence (Mont.); Sara Olsen, Hastings (Neb.); Alexis Dale, Doane (Neb.); Adrianna Shaw, Concordia (Neb.); Ireyon Keith, Xavier (La.); Chantel Blair, Grand View (Iowa); Shelbie Williams, William Penn (Iowa); Marah Franz, Tabor (Kan.); Kortney Schutt, Friends (Kan.); Lori White, Bethel (Kan.); Emily Allen, Cumberlands (Ky.); Paige Pettell, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Katelyn Young, Campbellsville (Ky.); Kalea Barnett, Cumberland (Tenn.); Samantha Reilly, Viterbo (Wis.); Peyton Russell, Waldorf (Iowa); Jamie Tebben, Dakota State (S.D.); Sayge McKrill, Valley City State (N.D.); Julia Johnson, Jamestown (N.D.); Janaa Evans, Langston (Okla.); Alisha St. Louis, Wiley (Texas); Olivia Miller, Carlow (Pa.); Katie Browning, Rio Grande (Ohio); Trisha Spivey, Indiana East (Ind.); Leah Banks, Loyola (La.); Virginia Salanoa-Sagapolu, Webber International (Fla.); Leondra Correia, Indiana Tech


2017-18 Women's Outdoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)

Week 1 (March 21): Cheyenne White, Indiana Tech, Emily Kearney, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.) 

Week 2 (March 28): Chelsea Baker, Friends (Kan.), Natasha Poleon, Wiley (Texas) 

Week 3 (April 04): Keely Parish, Hastings (Neb.), Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.) 

Week 4 (April 11): Bailey Dell, Northwest Christian (Ore.), Emily Kearney, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.) 

Week 5 (April 18): Carlie Vannatta, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.), Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.)


Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship

May 20-22, 2020 
Mickey Miller Blackwell Stadium
Gulf Shores, Ala.