NAIA Volleyball Player of the Week ? No. 10

NAIA Volleyball Player of the Week ? No. 10
By Travis Rae, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Samantha Dougherty of The Master's (Calif.) has been named NAIA Volleyball National Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Dougherty, who is the final weekly award winner for the 2012 season, was selected based on her performance from Oct. 29 - Nov. 4 and was chosen out of a pool of conference player of the week selections among 23 conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Dougherty, a 5-foot-10 junior outside hitter from Madera, Calif., led the Mustangs to a 3-0 record this past week. Dougherty helped the Mustangs to a 3-2 (25-27, 25-23, 25-20, 16-25, 16-14) victory over No. 12 Westmont (Calif.) on Oct. 30. She collected 20 digs, 14 kills, two blocks (1 solo, 1 assist) and two assists. Dougherty continued to play well as the Mustangs defeated then-No. 16 Cal State San Marcos, 3-1, (25-16, 25-19, 24-26, 25-20) on Nov. 2. She earned a game-high 21 kills, 14 digs, three block assists and two aces against the Cougars. In the final match of the week for The Master's, on Nov. 3, Dougherty led the Mustangs past Arizona Christian, 3-0, (25-7, 25-12, 25-16). She tallied 16 digs, nine kills and a season-high seven aces. In three matches, Dougherty collected 50 digs, 44 kills, nine aces and five block assists.

Dougherty leads the team in kills (374) and aces (51). She ranks 31st in the nation in kills per set (3.74) and 34th in aces (51).

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

Nominees: Michi Jimenez, Lourdes (Ohio); Kristin Pressley, Oklahoma Baptist; Adriana Gonzalez, Sterling (Kan.); Laura DeGear, Campbellsville (Ky.); Katie Rosenbusch, Texas Wesleyan; Katie Zent, Jamestown (N.D.); Kailey Tuthill, Loyola (La.); Dayane Souza, Tougaloo (Miss.); Kaley Lyons, Evangel (Mo.); Liz Gbur, Ashford (Iowa); Devon Jensen, Grand View (Iowa); Rebecca Sweeney, Carroll (Mont.); Brooke Simpson, Columbia (Mo.); Livia Caluori, Point Park (Pa.); Hannah Meadows, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Kaitlin Floerchinger, Northwestern (Iowa); Taylor Martin, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Hannah Bostic, Montreat (N.C.); Melissa Joyce, Robert Morris (Ill.) ; Rachel Quackenbush, Indiana Wesleyan; Chandra Teague, Corban (Ore.); Courtney Calicdan, Menlo (Calif.).

2012 Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Sept. 4): Patricia Souza, Park (Mo.)
Week 2 (Sept. 11): Kendra Schwein, Hastings (Neb.)
Week 3 (Sept. 18): Jordan Holcomb, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 4 (Sept. 25): Paula Ferreira, Columbia (Mo.)
Week 5 (Oct. 2): Kristine Egebrecht, Indiana Wesleyan
Week 6 (Oct. 9): Eva Prieditis, Madonna (Mich.)
Week 7 (Oct. 16): Ally Krus, Missouri Baptist
Week 8 (Oct. 23): Amy Weststeyn, Biola (Calif.)
Week 9 (Oct. 30): Brooke Marino, Concordia (Calif.)
Week 10 (Nov. 4): Samantha Dougherty, The Master's (Calif.)