Texas at Brownsville Wins Second Volleyball National Championship

Texas at Brownsville Wins Second Volleyball National Championship

By: Matt Bos, Northwestern (Iowa) Sports Information Director

SIOUX CITY, Iowa -- Top-ranked Texas at Brownsville won its second-ever NAIA Volleyball National Championship, defeating #3 Biola (Calif.) 3-0 (27-25, 27-25, 25-22). The 2013 event was presented by J&L Enterprises and CNOS Foundation and played at the Tyson Events Center in Sioux City, Iowa.

Texas at Brownsville finished the season with a perfect 37-0 record, the third team in the last five years to finish undefeated. The Ocelots also won the title in 2011, finishing with a 32-2 record.
Trailing for nearly the entire first set, Texas at Brownsville grabbed its first lead at 25-24. Biola tied it at 25 but the Ocelots scored the final two points off kills by Xiaoyu Guo and Danica Markovic to take the first set.

Texas at Brownsville scored the first four points and led most of the way in set two until a late Biola charge tied it at 22. Still tied at 25, the Ocelots got a kill by Vanja Joksic, followed by an Eagles attack error giving UTB a 2-0 lead.

The lead switched hands four times early on in the third set, until, tied at 17, Texas at Brownsville outscored the Eagles 8-5 to win the final set, 25-22.

Texas at Brownsville hit .295 for the match and three players hit for double figures. Joksic led the way with 13 kills, hitting .500 out of the middle, while championship most valuable player Danica Markovic put down 12 kills and added 13 digs. Annelies Dokter added 12 kills for the Ocelots.

Biola, playing in its first championship match since 1997, was led by Joclyn Kirton with 14 kills and Alyssa Mason put down 12. The Eagles hit .227 for the match and end the season with a 27-4 overall record.

2013 NAIA Volleyball National Championship All-Tournament Team:
Amy Weststeyn, Biola
Chelsee Arnitz, Biola
Trinity Ojo, Columbia
Jessica Israel, Concordia
Kayla Gesink, Dordt
Rachel Eubanks, Georgetown
Chrissy Daggett, Grand View
Emilie Freeman, Madonna
Megan Farley, Midland
Karlie Schut, Northwestern
Samantha Dougherty, The Master’s
Ana Guerra, Texas at Brownsville
Vanja Joksic, Texas at Brownsville
Shahala Hawkins, Wayland Baptist

Tachikara Most Valuable Player: Danica Markovic, Texas at Brownsville
Tachikara National Championship Coach of the Year: Jim Giacomazzi, Wayland Baptist
Champions of Character Selection: Wayland Baptist