2013 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams Announced

2013 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams Announced

By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2013 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America teams, as chosen by the NAIA Volleyball All-America Selection Committee, Monday. Each team—first, second and third—consists of 14 members.

Texas at Brownsville senior outside hitter Danica Markovic, a Subotica, Serbia, native, was selected as the 2013 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball Player of the Year. Markovic is a four-time All-America selection, having been named to the first team in 2010, 2012 and 2013 and the second team in 2011. She led the Ocelots to their fifth-straight National Championship appearance, culminating in the team’s second national championship. Markovic is the first Texas at Brownsville player to earn the honor since the award’s inception in 1990.

Markovic played in all 37 matches for the Ocelots, leading the team to a perfect 37-0 record. She recorded a team-high 409 kills, an average of 3.47 per game, and tallied an NAIA-high 91 service aces, an average of .77 per game, on the season. She also added 56 blocks, 16 assists and 310 digs on the year. Nationally, Markovic ranked among the leaders in total service aces (1st, 91), service aces per game (6th, .77), hitting percentage (10th, .374) and kills per game (49th, 3.47).

Biola’s (Calif.) Aaron Seltzer was named the 2013 NAIA Volleyball Coach of the Year after leading the Eagles to a 27-4 record and a runner-up finish at the National Championship. He is the first Biola head coach to receive the honor since the award’s inception in 1981.

Biola, Concordia (Calif.), Madonna (Mich.) and Texas at Brownsville all landed multiple players on the first team. Markovic, Vanja Joksic and Ana Guerra were the All-Americans for national champion Texas at Brownsville. National runner-up Biola led all programs with four All-America selections—Chelsee Arnitz (First Team), Gracee Gallarda (First Team), Amy Weststeyn (First Team) and Joclyn Kirton (Second Team).

Former-member Fresno Pacific leads all institutions with 54 all-time All-Americans. Columbia (45) and Biola (40) trail the Sunbirds.

2013 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams

First Team (sorted by school)

Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Chelsee Arnitz ^ Biola (Calif.) MH Sr. Yorba Linda, Calif.
Gracee Gallarda ^ Biola (Calif.) S Sr. Yorba Linda, Calif.
Amy Weststeyn ^ Biola (Calif.) MH Jr. Visalia, Calif.
Trinity Ojo Columbia (Mo.) MH Sr. Grand Prairie, Texas
Jessica Israel Concordia (Calif.) OPP Jr. West Hills, Calif.
Le Mi ^ Concordia(Calif.) MH Sr. Yantai, China
Emilie Freeman Madonna (Mich.) MH Sr. Livonia, Mich.
Evia Prieditis ^ Madonna (Mich.) S Sr. Milford, Mich.
Kaitlin Floerchinger Northwestern (Iowa) OH Jr. Treynor, Iowa
Kristin Pressley ^ Oklahoma Baptist OH Sr. Mansfield, Texas
Wanessa Siqueira Park (Mo.) OPP Jr. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Vanja Joksic ^ Texas at Brownsville MH Jr. Gornji Milanovac, Serbia
Danica Markovic ^ Texas at Brownsville OH Sr. Subotica, Serbia
Shahala Hawkins Wayland Baptist (Texas) MH So. Denver City, Texas

Second Team (sorted by school)

Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Madison Ekis ^ Concordia (Calif.) OH Sr. Phelan, Calif.
Caraline Maher Georgetown (Ky.) MH Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Kadie Subbert Grand View (Iowa) OH Jr. Stanton, Iowa
Rae Brandes Indiana Wesleyan OH Sr. Twin Lakes, Wis.
Sarah Becker ^ Jamestown (N.D.) MH Sr. Rochester, Minn.
Kailey Moorhead Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) MH Sr. Wolfforth, Texas
Samantha Dougherty ^ The Master's (Calif.) OH Sr. Madera, Calif.
Vladi Kopanarova MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) MH Sr. Razlog, Bulgaria
Megan Farley Midland (Neb.) S Jr. Syracuse, Neb.
Mackenzie Scheef Midland (Neb.) MH Sr. Syracuse, Neb.
Abby Nicholas MSU-Northern OH Sr. Sandy, Utah
Brooke Fessler Northwestern (Iowa) S So. Pella, Iowa
Ana Guerra ^ Texas at Brownsville MH Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Alicia Olson ^ Viterbo (Wis.) OH Jr. Eau Claire, Wis.

Third Team (sorted by school)

Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Annie Benson Bellevue (Neb.) OH Sr. Papillion, Neb.
Beth Walker Bellevue (Neb.) S So. Dubuque, Iowa
Joclyn Kirton Biola (Calif.) OH So. Everett, Wash.
Cailie Johnson Cornerstone (Mich.) MH Jr. Rockford, Mich.
Kamrin Gold Culver Stockton (Mo.) OH So. Flint, Mich.
Kayla Gesink Dordt (Iowa) S Jr. Sioux Center, IA
Casey Loper Eastern Oregon MH Jr. Powell Butte, Ore.
Denise Atualevao Graceland (Iowa) L Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Kristine Egebrecht ^ Indiana Wesleyan MH Sr. Wheaton, Ill.
Lauren Purdy Park (Mo.) MH Sr. Arlington, Texas
Yang Yang Rocky Mountain (Mont.) MH Jr. Yongan, China
Jessica Wiltjer Trinity Christian (Ill.) MH Jr. Schererville, Ind.
Jessica Neves Vanguard (Calif.) OPP Jr. Mission Viejo, Calif.
Grecia Rivera Wayland Baptist (Texas) OH Sr. Juarez, Mexico

^ Denotes 2012 All-American

Honorable Mention (sorted by school)

Name School
Molly Maynard Aquinas (Mich.)
Sarah Sterling Asbury (Ky.)
Symone Faulkner Bellevue (Neb.)
Morgan Fox Bethel (Ind.)
Carolyn Evans Bryan (Tenn.)
Taylor Fink Bryan (Tenn.)
Taylor DeGraaf Cal State San Marcos
Alyssa Foster Cal State San Marcos
Rinata Aisena Campbellsville (Ky.)
Monique Morris Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Elle Kosciuk Clarke (Iowa)
Liz Myers College of Idaho
Sierra Porter College of Idaho
Hayley Blair College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
Lydie van Deursen Columbia (Mo.)
Lindsay Mangan Concordia (Ore.)
Mariah Raudsepp Concordia (Ore.)
Jenee Henderson Concordia (Calif.)
Hannah Stone Davenport (Mich.)
Brooke Wolterstorff Dordt (Iowa)
Stefani Sorensen Eastern Oregon
Tamires Ferreira Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Hannah Gray Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Emily Jacobson Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Micah Cribbs Evangel (Mo.)
Crystal Taporco Friends (Kan.)
Allyson Wilbourn Georgetown (Ky.)
Dana Johnston Grace (Ind.)
Breanne Schultz Kansas Wesleyan
Niurka Toribio Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Sarah Anderson Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Nadelina Nesheva Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Stacey Catalano Madonna (Mich.)
Josette Glatt Mayville (N.D.)
Zoraida Heredia MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Taryn Salum MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Ally Krus Missouri Baptist
Joni Nagy MSU-Northern
Kelsey Williams MSU-Northern
Karlie Schut Northwestern (Iowa)
Nicole Gingery Ottawa (Kan.)
Nicole Wurstle Point Park (Pa.)
Denise De Vine Reinhardt (Ga.)
Anna Dewald Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Jessica, Sodich Southwest Assemblies of God (N.M.)
Sha Sha Buchanan Spring Hill (Ala.)
Megan Haber Spring Hill (Ala.)
Taryn Nash Spring Hill (Ala.)
Zipporah Washington SUNO (La.)
Katherine, Rosenbusch Texas Wesleyan
Kaitlin Feddema Trinity Christian (Ill.)
Erynn Schuh Trinity Christian (Ill.)
Breanne Shaw St. Francis (Ill.)
Xiaoyu Gou Texas at Brownsville
Michelle Marques Texas at Brownsville
Kelly Heenan Vanguard (Calif.)
Ciara Turner Westmont (Calif.)
Susan Tsisiche Wiley (Texas)
Taylor Reuther Xavier (La.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Volleyball Championship


Nov. 23, 2019 Opening Round  Campus Sites

Dec.3 - 7, 2019
Tyson Events Center
Sioux City, Iowa