2014 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams Announced

2014 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams Announced

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2014 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams, as chosen by the NAIA Volleyball All-America Selection Committee, Monday. Each team – first, second and third – consists of 14 members.

Biola (Calif.) senior middle hitter Amy Weststeyn was selected as the 2014 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball Player of the Year. The Visalia, Calif., native is a four-time All-America selection, including being named to the first team in 2012, 2013 and 2014. Weststeyn, who was also named the Golden State Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the second-consecutive season earlier this fall, led the Eagles to their seventh-straight appearance at the NAIA Volleyball National Championship. Biola reached at least the semifinals for the third-straight season, before bowing out to eventual national champion Park (Mo.) in a five-set thriller.

Weststeyn led the NAIA in hitting percentage (.433), while ranking third in total blocks (174) and 15th in total kills (490). She hit .400-or-better 25 times this year, including a season-best .750 in a five set match against fellow semifinalist Viterbo (Wis.) on August 16. Weststeyn is the first Biola player to earn the honor since the award’s inception in 1990.

Haley Pouliezos of Missouri Baptist was picked as the inaugural Tachikara-NAIA Libero of the Year. The junior from Imperial, Mo., was also named to the All-America Second Team – her first-ever All-America selection. Pouliezos played a key role in Missouri Baptist’s 38-4 record this season, which included the program’s first national championship quarterfinal appearance since 2006 – third all-time.

Pouliezos led the NAIA in total digs (971) and digs per set (6.7). She had double-digit digs in 35 of 38 appearances this season. Arguably, her top performance of the year came in a 37-dig effort against Culver-Stockton (Mo.) on Oct. 10.

Park’s Mike Talamantes was named the 2014 NAIA Volleyball Coach of the Year after leading the Pirates to a perfect 40-0 season that included the program’s first-ever national championship. He is the first Park head coach to receive this honor since the award was established in 1981. Talamantes was also named the 2014 NAIA Volleyball National Championship Coach of the Year following Park’s 3-0 win against defending national champion Texas at Brownsville in the banner match.

Northwestern (Iowa), Park and Texas at Brownsville all landed multiple players on the first team. The Red Raiders, Pirates and Missouri Baptist led all programs with three All-America selections each.

For more information on NAIA volleyball, click here.

2014 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball Player of the Year: Amy Weststeyn, Biola (Calif.)
2014 Tachikara-NAIA Libero of the Year: Haley Pouliezos, Missouri Baptist
2014 NAIA Volleyball Coach of the Year: Mike Talamantes, Park (Mo.)

2014 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams
First Team (sorted by school)       
Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Amy Weststeyn Biola (Calif.) MH Sr. Visalia, Calif.
Reanna Schelhas Concordia (Calif.) MH Sr. Los Alomitos, Calif.
Casey Loper Eastern Oregon MH Sr. Powell Butte, Ore.
Yeniffer Ramirez Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) OH So. Santo Domingo, D.R.
Mallory Dillon Missouri Baptist OH So. St. Charles, Mo.
Kaitlin Floerchinger Northwestern (Iowa) OH Sr. Treynor, Iowa
Brooke Fessler Northwestern (Iowa) S Sr. Pella, Iowa
Wendy Romero Park (Mo.) OH Jr. Cojedes, San Carlos, Venezuela
Juliana Barros Park (Mo.) S Sr. Ourinhos-Sao Paulo, Brazil
Yang Yang Rocky Mountain (Mont.) MH Sr. Yongan, China
Vanja Joksic Texas at Brownsville MH Sr. Gornji Milanovac, Serbia
Bjana Mitrovic Texas at Brownsville OH Sr. Novi Sad, Serbia
Alicia Olson Viterbo (Wis.) OH Sr. Eau Claire, Wis.
Shahala Hawkins Wayland Baptist (Texas) MH Jr. Denver City, Texas
Second Team (sorted by school)       
Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Alyssa Mason Biola (Calif.) OH Jr. Redlands, Calif.
Joclyn Kirton Biola (Calif.) OH Jr. Everett, Wash.
Cayley Meiners Coastal Georgia S So. Mackinaw, Ill.
Sierra Porter College of Idaho S Jr. Eagle, Idaho
Brooke Simpson Columbia (Mo.) OH Sr. Scott City, Mo.
Rachel Flynn Concordia (Calif.) OH Fr. Mission Viejo, Calif.
Kamrin Gold Culver-Stockton (Mo.) OH Jr. Flint, Mich.
Hannah Stone Davenport (Mich.) MH Sr. Hudsonville, Mich.
Tamires Ferreira Embry-Riddle (Fla.) S Jr. Barbacena, Brazil
Zoraida Heredia MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) OH Sr. Yamasa, D.R.
Megan Farley Midland (Neb.) S Sr. Syracuse, Neb.
Haley Pouliezos Missouri Baptist (Mo.) Lib Jr. Imperial, Mo.
Karlie Schut Northwestern (Iowa) Opp Jr. West Des Moines, Iowa
Wanessa Siqueira Park (Mo.) Opp Sr. Rio de janeiro, Brazil
Third Team (sorted by school)       
Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Alyssa Foster Cal State San Marcos S Sr. Portland, Ore.
Emma Anderson Coastal Georgia OH Jr. Lincoln, Ill.
Amber Getty Davenport (Mich.) S Sr. Wayland, Mich.
Jessalyn Smith Eastern Oregon Lib Sr. Boise, Idaho
Caraline Maher Georgetown (Ky.) MH Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Allyson Wilbourn Georgetown (Ky.) Opp Sr. Fisherville, Ky.
Mallory Livingston IU East (Ind.) OH Jr. Union City, Ohio
Nadelina Nesheva Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) OH Sr. Sofia, Bulgaria
Josette Glatt Mayville State (N.D.) Opp Sr. Bismarck, N.D.
Ashlee Harms Midland (Neb.) Opp Jr. Glenvil, Neb.
Allison Krus Missouri Baptist S Jr. St. Louis, Mo.
Jordan Strickland St. Catharine (Ky.) S Jr. Lexington, Ky.
Erynn Schuh Trinity Christian (Ill.) S Sr. Frankfort, Ill.
Jessica Neves Vanguard (Calif.) Opp Sr. Mission Viejo, Calif.

Honorable Mention (sorted by school)
Danielle Tombolato Ashford (Iowa)
Beth Walker Bellevue (Neb.)
Lauren Hoenecke Biola (Calif.)
Kara Stamper Bryan (Tenn.)
Taylor Fink Bryan (Tenn.)
Kendyl Danelski Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Tayler Hegg Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Melissa Murphy Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Jamie Reaves College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
Jenee Henderson Concordia (Calif.)
Claire White Concordia (Neb.)
Lindsey Dorsey Concordia (Ore.)
Brianna Hogan Concordia (Ore.)
Cailie Schultz Cornerstone (Mich.)
Marcey DeHaan Davenport (Mich.)
Kayla Bartman Dordt (Iowa)
Brooke Wolterstorff Dordt (Iowa)
Rachelle Chamberlain Eastern Oregon
Evelina Abduakhmanova Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Hannah Gray Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Taylor Wells Grand View (Iowa)
Alyssa McEwan Great Falls (Mont.)
Katie Zoucha Hastings (Neb.)
Remy Bucknor Indiana Wesleyan
Morgan Miller Indiana Wesleyan
Naomi Walther Jamestown (N.D.)
Audrey Dearien John Brown (Ark.)
Melissa Blair Kansas Wesleyan
Kasey Clark Lawrence Tech (Mich.)
Sarah Schilling Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Casey Gates Madonna (Mich.)
Courtney Calicdan Menlo (Calif.)
Sofija Berezovska MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Korey Krumm Montana Tech
Annelise Rohrer Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)
Alexis Bart Northwestern (Iowa)
Chanel Cantere Northwestern Ohio
Kristen Macy Oklahoma City
Allie Arnold Ottawa (Kan.)
Carol Reis Southeastern (Fla.)
Atanda Motada Southern Oregon
Rebecca Just St. Catharine (Ky.)
Anna Siruckova Texas at Brownsville
Aubrey Bekendam The Master's (Calif.)
Paige Moore Union (Ky.)
Kelly Heenan Vanguard (Calif.)
Bri Brinkman Viterbo (Wis.)
Chelsey Driskill Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Madison Serrano Westmont (Calif.)
Fatoumata Dacosta Wiley (Texas)
Rebecca Moustapha Wiley (Texas)
Emily Becker William Woods (Mo.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Volleyball Championship


Nov. 23, 2019 Opening Round  Campus Sites

Dec.3 - 7, 2019
Tyson Events Center
Sioux City, Iowa