2015 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams Announced

2015 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams Announced

By Colbi Howser, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2015 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams, as chosen by the NAIA Volleyball All-America Selection Committee, Monday. The All-America Committee consists of the NAIA-VCA officers and the championship committiee. Each team – first, second and third – consists of 14 members.

Outside hitter Penny Liu was named the Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball National Championship Player of the Year for her play at the event. This is the first All-American selection for the sophomore as she led her team to their twenty-second straight appearance at the national championship and fourth title in school history. Liu was named 2015 American Midwest Conference (AMC) Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and a First Team All-Conference. This the sixth player of the year from Columbia and first since Paula Ferreira in 2012.

Liu is second in the NAIA in hitting percentage (.408) with 601 on the year, fourth in total kills (601) and seventh in kills per game (4.230). She hit .400-or-better 23 times this year, including a season-best .923 in a three-set match against St. Louis Pharmacy (Mo.) on Sept. 21.

For the second year in a row Haley Pouliezos of Missouri Baptist was named as the Tachikara-NAIA Libero of the Year.  The senior from Imperial, Mo., was also named to the All-America First Team – her second All-America selection. Pouliezos played a key role in her team’s 39-5 season, including a first ever trip to the national championship title game where she recorded a team high 19 defensive digs.

Pouliezos is fifth in the NAIA in total digs (816) and 11th in digs per game (5.790). She had a career high 39 digs against College of the Ozarks (Mo.) on Oct. 20.

Columbia’s Melinda Wrye-Washington was name the 2015 NAIA Volleyball Coach of the Year after leading her Cougars to a 33-7 season including the team’s fourth national championship title. This is Wrye-Washington’s 14th season at Columbia, posting a record of 580-80 (.879) and is currently ranked as the programs all-time winningest coach.  The Cougars now hold an 86-43 all-time record at nationals after going a perfect 6-0 this year at the tournament.

For more information on NAIA volleyball, click here.

Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball National Championship Most Valuable Player: Penny Liu, Columbia (Mo.)
Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball National Championship Libero of the Year: Haley Pouliezos, Missouri Baptist
Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball National Championship Tournament Coach of the Year: Melinda Wrye-Washington, Columbia (Mo.)

2015 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-American Teams

First Team Institution Pos. Yr. Hometown
Joclyn Kirton Biola (Calif.) OH SR Kirkland, Wash.
Alyssa Mason Biola (Calif.) MB SR Redlands, Calif.
Kylie Porter College of Idaho MH SR Boise, Idaho
Penny Liu Columbia (Mo.) OPP SO Nanjing, China
Brooke Granstra Dordt (Iowa) MH JR Sioux Center, Iowa
Kennadie Clute Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) OH JR Spokane, Wash.
Carol Siqueira Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) OH SR Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Mallory Dillon Missouri Baptist OH SR St. Charles, Mo.
Haley Pouliezos Missouri Baptist L SR Imperial, Mo.
Karlie Schut Northwestern (Iowa) OPP SR West Des Moines, Iowa
Stephanie Flores Vanguard (Calif.) MB SR Yucaipa, Calif.
Natalie Geidel Viterbo (Wis.) MH SO West Bend, Wis.
Jennifer Krentz Viterbo (Wis.) L SR Watertown, Minn.
Shahala Hawkins Wayland Baptist (Texas) MH SR Denver City, Texas
Second Team Institution Pos. Yr. Hometown
Sierra Porter College of Idaho S SR Eagle, Idaho
Sashiko Heredia Columbia (Mo.) S JR Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico
Taylor Wells Grand View (Iowa) OPP JR Des Moines, Iowa
Logan Drueppel Hastings (Neb.) MH JR Schuyler, Neb.
Makenzie Montano Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) S SO Louisville, Ky.
Stephanie Ruffing Lourdes (Ohio) OH JR Columbus, Ohio
Rachel Kater MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) S SO Wichita, Kan.
Priscilla O'Dowd Midland (Neb.) MH FR Papillion, Neb.
Allison Krus Missouri Baptist S SR St. Louis, Mo.
Mariah Stiffarm Rocky Mountain (Mont.) MH SR Billings, Mont.
Rebecca Just St. Catharine (Ky.) OH SR Louisville, Ky.
Charlotte Heerlyn Vanguard (Calif.) OPP SR Santee, Calif.
Sarah McKinny Vanguard (Calif.) MH SR Santa Barbara, Calif.
Amelia Grahn Viterbo (Wis.) S SO Madison, Wis.
Third Team Institution Pos. Yr. Hometown
Pakalana Helekahi Ashford (Iowa) OH SO Hana, Hawaii
Beth Walker Bellevue (Neb.) S SR Dubuque, Iowa
Britta Blaser Biola (Calif.) OPP SR Morgan Hill, Calif.
Amber Parker Corban (Ore.) OH SO Albany, Ore.
Rachelle Chamberlain Eastern (Ore.) S JR Challis, Idaho
Jenny Howell Georgetown (Ky.) OH SO Cincinnati, Ohio
Madison Wendel Jamestown (N.D) MH SO Carrington, N.D.
Audrey Dearien John Brown (Ark.) OH SR Frisco, Texas
Molly Shonk Lourdes (Ohio) OH JR Columbus, Ohio
Jessica Peters Midland (Neb.) S FR Papillion, Neb.
Annelise Rohrer Mt. Vernon Nazarene (Ohio) OH JR Hilliard, Ohio
Tori Leisure Oklahoma City MH SR Haslet, Texas
Janaya Fox Ottawa (Kan.) OH JR Bellevue, Neb.
Lauren McGowne Southern Oregon S JR Coos Bay, Ore.
Kayla Morlan Asbury (Ky.)
Eloisa Sales Bethel (Tenn.)
Kara Stamper Bryan (Tenn.)
Shelby Grace Enochs Bryan (Tenn.)
Jana Kortas Cambellsville (Ky.)
Kendyl Danelski Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Crystal Schmidt Carroll (Mont.)
Cayley Meiners Coastal Georgia
Emma Anderson Coastal Georgia
Jamie Reaves College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
Alayna Kavanaugh Concordia (Neb.)
Jocelyn Garcia Concordia (Neb.)
Chelsea Lake Cornerstone (Mich.)
Kamrin Gold Culver Stockton (Mo.)
Jamie Gesink Dordt (Iowa)
Amanda Miller Eastern Oregon
Morgan Smith Evangel (Mo.)
Emma Feierabend Friends (Kan.)
Corri Muha Georgetown (Ky.)
Katie Placke Hastings (Neb.)
Conley Kipp Hope International (Calif.)
Mallory Livingston Indiana University East
Lindy Thomas Indiana University Kokomo
Morgan Miller Indiana Wesleyan Univ.
Heather Bachman Jamestown (N.D.)
Nicole Warren Jamestown (N.D.)
Treneisha Doyle Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Carolynne Silva Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Michi Jiminez Lourdes (Ohio)
Nicole Oestrike Madonna (Mich.)
Katie Breault Madonna (Mich.)
Aubrey Bekendam Masters (Calif.)
Ashlee Harms Midland (Neb.)
Hannah Carey Missouri Baptist
Bailey Nations Mobile (Ala.)
Bailie Cortner Montana Tech
Marlowe Beatty Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)
Manon Soraru Oklahoma City
Becky Deruiter Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Bethany Farres Ottawa (Kan.)
Alysha Blanco Our Lady of The Lake (Texas)
Danna Gomes Park (Mo.)
Raissa Herczfeld Park (Mo.)
Shannon Liewer Peru State (Neb.)
Aleah Billis Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Tori Bertsch Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Emma Gasman Southern Oregon
Jordan Strickland St. Catharine (Ky.)
Whitney Battoe St. Thomas (Fla.)
Tena Loewen Tabor (Kan.)
Shaughnessy Hearn Texas Wesleyan
Katie Stoll Trinity Christian (Ill.)
Ana Calaza Union (Ky.)
Rebecca Lowden Vanguard (Calif.)
Sara Biermaier Viterbo (Wis.)
Libby Dahlberg Westmont (Calif.)
Taylor Beckman Westmont (Calif.)
Jessica McCann Westmont (Calif.)
Emily Becker William Woods (Mo.)