Lindsey Wilson Crowned 2017 NAIA Women's Volleyball National Champion

Lindsey Wilson Crowned 2017 NAIA Women's Volleyball National Champion

By Katie Green, Manager of Athletics Communications and Media

SIOUX CITY, Iowa – Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) defeated Dordt (Iowa) 3-1 to become the 2017 Women’s Volleyball National Champions at the 38th women’s volleyball championship in Sioux City, Iowa.  

Bracket Play Scores


  • Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) defeated Missouri Baptist, 3-0
  • Dordt (Iowa) defeated Viterbo (Wis.), 3-1


  • Lindsey Wilson defeated Dordt, 3-1

For complete schedule and bracket, CLICK HERE.


  • This is the second time in the semifinals for Lindsey Wilson and third time for Dordt, Viterbo and Missouri Baptist.
  • None of the four semifinalists have ever won a title and three of the four teams have been to the championship match one time in school history.
  • Lindsey Wilson and Missouri Baptist had a set score of 32-30 for the highest set score of the 2017 championship.
  • Four different conferences were represented in the semifinals: American Midwest Conference, Great Plains Athletics Conference, Mid-South Conference and North Star Athletic Association.
  • This was the first time that Lindsey Wilson played in the championship match.
  • Lindsey Wilson went undefeated on the season with a 35-0 record.
  • The last time a team went undefeated through the season and the tournament was when Park (Mo.) went 40-0 during the 2014 season.
  • In the last nine years five teams have won the national championship with an undefeated season: former member Fresno Pacific (Calif.) (2009), Concordia (Calif.) (2012), Texas – Brownsville (2013), Park (Mo.) (2014), and Lindsey Wilson (2017).
  • All-Tournament Team:
  • Emma Altena, Dordt
    •       Libby Dahlberg, Westmont (Calif.)
    •       Alissa Flint, Park (Mo.)
    •       Natalie Geidel, Viterbo (Wis.)
    •       Alaina Gentili, Corban (Ore.)
    •       Amelia Grahn, Viterbo
    •       Morgan Hensch, Jamestown (N.D.)
    •       Kristina Medanovic, Missouri Baptist
    •       Priscilla O’Dowd, Midland (Neb.)
    •       Katie Placke, Hastings (Neb.)
    •       Paulina Sobolewska, Lindsey Wilson
    •       Jackie van Vliet, College of Idaho
    •       Leah Kamp, Dordt
    •       Elly Burke, Lindsey Wilson
  • Libero of the Year – Simmer Jansen, Dordt
  • Most Valuable Player – Makenzie Montano, Lindsey Wilson
  • Tournament Coach of the Year – Andy Cavins, Lindsey Wilson
  • Champions of Character Team – Dordt

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Volleyball Championship


Nov. 23, 2019 Opening Round  Campus Sites

Dec.3 - 7, 2019
Tyson Events Center
Sioux City, Iowa