Runners of the Week - No. 3

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Evans Kirwa of Embry-Riddle (Fla.) has been named NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week and Houghton's (N.Y.) Danielle Brenon has been tabbed NAIA National Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Kirwa and Brenon were selected based on their performances from Sept. 19 - 25. They were chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated group runners of the week selections.

Kirwa posted a fourth-place finish with an 8K time of 24:47.23 at the Mountain Dew Invitational hosted by NCAA Division I Florida on Sept. 24. The junior from Eldoret, Kenya, was only 12 seconds behind the individual champion from the University of Michigan and ran against a field of 153 competitors. With his efforts, the No. 21 Eagles placed sixth among 17 teams, most of which were NCAA Division I programs, with 192 team points.

This is the second National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week honor for Kirwa.

Brenon won the Highlander Invitational hosted by Houghton with a 17:52.48 5K time on Sept. 24. A senior from Endwell, N.Y., Brenon took top honors by seven seconds in a field of 153 runners and helped the Highlanders to a fourth-place finish with 126 team points.

The next Runners of the Week announcement will be on Oct. 5.

Men's Nominees: Mitchell Dale, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Ramiro Garcia, Texas Wesleyan; Thomas Zunie, Haskell (Kan.); Andy Coy, Dakota State (S.D.); Aaron Caldwell, Baker (Kan.); Jimmy Oribo, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Andrew Hugill, College of Idaho; Joseph (JJ) Koerber, Jamestown (N.D.); Edwin Ronoh, Doane (Neb.); Brian Meyer, Ashford (Iowa); Geoffrey Njonjo, Oklahoma Christian; Matt Pieri, Xavier (La.); Colton McNinch, Southwestern (Kan.); Rashaun Tanner, Emmanuel (Ga.); Stephen Hine, Houghton (N.Y.); Matt McAndrews, Indiana Wesleyan; Fernando Diaz, Holy Names (Calif.).

Women's Nominees: Talisa Budder, Haskell (Kan.); Jessica Davis, Texas Wesleyan; Obsie Birru, Grand View (Iowa); Lauren Jaqua, Baker (Kan.); Hillary Holt, College of Idaho; Aleona Reyes, Jamestown (N.D.); Rhianna Grossman, Carroll (Mont.); Kelsey Christensen, Doane (Neb.); Lauren Versweyveld, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Jacqueline Hallam, Oklahoma Christian; Karina Coelho, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Jennifer Hendrixson, Southwestern (Kan.); Monicah Jepkemboi, Southern-New Orleans (La.); Alexandria Weathersby, Missouri Baptist; Beka Bentle, Indiana Wesleyan; Kimberly Spencer, William Jessup (Calif.).

2011 Composite Award Winners (Men's; Women's)
Week 1: Evans Kirwa, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Lauren Jimison, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
Week 2: John Gilbertson, The Master's (Calif.); Gina Paletta, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 3: Evans Kirwa, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Danielle Brenon, Houghton (N.Y.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship

November 22, 2019 
Vancouver, Washington