2014 NAIA Women?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 6

2014 NAIA Women?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 6

By Mike DeVader, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Kelly Collins of Westmont (Calif.) has been named the NAIA Women's Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Collins was chosen for her performance during the week of Oct. 6-12 and was selected out of a pool of conference and independent award winners.

Collins, a sophomore from Pleasant Hill, Calif., took first in the 166-runner Vanguard Invitational in Costa Mesa, Calif., on Oct. 11. She finished the 5-kilometer race in 17:40, two seconds ahead of second-place. Collins also led Westmont to the team title, as the Warriors took first-place out of 18 teams.

The seventh edition of the Women’s Cross Country Runner of the Week will be announced Oct. 22.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Lindsey Martin, Columbia (Mo.); Kristen Garwood, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Cassie St. John, Milligan (Tenn.); Robbiccaa Williams, Tennessee Wesleyan; Cassidy Brown, Northwest (Wash.); Summer Cano, Southern Oregon; Lexi Mitzel, Corban (Ore.); Anna Bos, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Sarah Ray, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Alex Berends, Taylor (Ind.); Ali Hochstetler, Goshen (Ind.); Taylor Hite, Indiana Wesleyan; Mariah Gondeiro, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Katie Wolfe, Arizona Christian; Jordyn Hudelson, Mount Marty (S.D.); Marissa DeWispelare, Doane (Neb.); Lauren Shomaker, Hastings (Neb.); Katherine Dillard, Benedictine (Kan.); Emily Nealley, Central Methodist (Mo.); Christian Provence, Ottawa (Kan.); Kelsey Buffum, Southwestern (Kan.); Kelsey Wilkins, Point Park (Pa.); Mishea Peltier, Life (Ga.); Maggie Calvert, Campbellsville (Ky.); Torri Holder, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Emily Weber, College of Saint Mary (Neb.); Sarah Sharp, Oklahoma Wesleyan; Liz Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Kelsey Carbajo, Grand View (Iowa); Ashly George, Dickinson State (N.D.); Maureen Rono, Wiley (Texas); Vanessa Garcia, Texas at Brownsville; Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist; Selene Lopez, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Cecilia David, Texas Wesleyan; Sabrina DeSantiago, St. Gregory's (Okla.); Annie Brown, John Brown (Ark.); Natalie Hensley, Dalton State (Ga.); HollyAnn Goble, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); Victoria Gonzales, Mobile (Ala.); Jessy Scarpone, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Joyce Miller, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Britny Vickers, Warner (Fla.); Alex Orr, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Kaitlyn Strauss, Northwood (Fla.); Lauren Dunleavy, Ave Maria (Fla.); Sarah Deiber, Southeastern (Fla.); Molly Peregrine, Aquinas (Mich.); Julie Oosterhouse, Cornerstone (Mich.); Cherie Gaines, Indiana Tech; Mackenzie Lounsbery, Davenport (Mich.); Jaclyn Sawasky, Madonna (Mich.).

2014 Women's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 10): Alex Berends, Taylor (Ind.)
Week 2 (September 17): Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 3 (September 24): Karis Frankian, The Master's (Calif.)
Week 4 (October 1): Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 5 (October 8) Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 6 (October 15): Kelly Collins, Westmont (Calif.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship

November 22, 2019 
Vancouver, Washington