2016 NAIA Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 1

2016 NAIA Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 1

By Nikki Sherrill, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Marissa DeWispelare of Doane (Neb.) has been named the NAIA Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. DeWispelare was selected for her performance on Sept. 2 and was selected out of a pool of Conference/Association of Independent Institutions award winners.


NAIA Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week
Marissa DeWispelare, Doane (Neb.)
Sr., David City, Neb.

  • Finished third out of 228 runners in the college division at the Augustana Twilight Cross Country Invitiational in Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • Ran a 16:57 three-mile race, which would have also placed her in the top ten in university standings at the invitational.
  • Became the first Doane Tiger to run a sub-17 minute race and helped her team finish 10th in the team standings, but third in NAIA schools at the meet. 

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Rebecca Starrett, Missouri Baptist; Mary Beth Bailey, Park (Mo.); Grace Young, Columbia (Mo.); Emily Kearney, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.); Hannah Rhodes, Tennessee Wesleyan; Jenny Boehmer, Union (Ky.); Jj Robinson, Milligan (Tenn.); Sierra Brown, Northwest Christian (Ore.); Lila Klopfenstein, College of Idaho; Nicole Watkins, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Stephanie Clarkson, Governors State (Ill.); Karyn Paisley, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Harley Sutton, Calumet (Ind.); Emma Weissbeck, Purdue Northwest (Ind.); Ashlee Knott, St. Francis (Ill.); Katelynn Skiles, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Chesha Lewis, Tougaloo (Miss.); Erin Krohn, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Maren Jeppson, Grand View (Iowa); Kami Tabor, Graceland (Iowa); Penny Fenn, Avila (Mo.); Christa Follette, Friends (Kan.); Rachel Franklin, Kansas Wesleyan; Jordan Calderwood, Ottawa (Kan.); Katelyn Fatten, Bethel (Kan.); Julia Manning, Georgetown (Ky.); Madison Peace, Cumberlands (Ky.); Madison Dooley, Campbellsville (Ky.); Riley Killian, Cumberland (Tenn.); Rachel Turi, Viterbo (Wis.); Marissa Kuik, Waldorf (Iowa); Allison Foster, Jamestown (N.D.); Jazmine Garcia, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Gabrielle Arsiaga, Southwest (N.M.); Katie Guarnaccia, Point Park (Pa.); Erika Beil, Indiana East; Sara Moore, Oklahoma City; Elle Hamilton, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Emily Poole, Dalton State (Ga.); Betsy Douglas, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Tiffany Rauch, Indiana Tech; Stephanie Johnston, Concordia (Mich.); Shauri Thomas, Lourdes (Ohio).

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship

November 22, 2019 
Vancouver, Washington